Other States

Munda wins Kharsawan by over 17,000 votes

Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP candidate Arjun Munda on Thursday won the Kharsawan Assembly bypoll defeating his nearest Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) opponent Dasrath Gagrai by over 17,000 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated as Mr. Munda has to enter the State Assembly within the mandatory six months period after becoming the chief minister on September 11 last year.

BJP sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy had resigned two months ago to pave way for Mr. Munda.

Mr. Munda defeated Mr. Gagrai by over 17,000 votes, Returning Officer C.K. Singh said.

Besides Mr. Gagrai, five others, including Bahadur Oraon of CPI (ML) and four independents, were also in the fray. The polling took place on February 10.

Mr. Munda, a third time chief minister since 2003, will have to vacate his Jamshedpur Lok Sabha constituency, which he had won in the 2009 general elections on a BJP ticket.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 26, 2020 7:15:45 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/Munda-wins-Kharsawan-by-over-17000-votes/article15448102.ece

Next Story