Other States

2016 FTII batch will complete course on time: Chauhan

With the admission process to the troubled Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) here under way, > Chairman Gajendra Chauhan has expressed his determination to ensure that the fresh batch completes its course on schedule.

While the results to the entrance exam were announced on Saturday, shortlisted candidates will now be called for an interview after which the final admission list will be put up by July, said FTII authorities.

The functioning of the Institute had been paralysed for four months with students agitating against the Information and Broadcasting (I & B) Ministry’s contentious appointment of Mr. Chauhan — a little known TV actor — on grounds that he lacked requisite “creative credentials” to helm an institute as prestigious as the FTII.

The 139-day agitation that unravelled somewhat tamely last October, was the longest in the history of the Institute since its inception in 1961.

Despite the agitation, a whopping 3,800 applicants had sat for the written exam for 108 seats in various courses offered. The Institute, notorious for its academic backlog, had frozen admissions for 2014, declaring it a ‘zero year’ to streamline academics and ensure that pending batches such as that of 2008 — that has overstayed its welcome by a record seven years – finished its course.

“A meeting of the academic council is due. It will review the new syllabus to make sure the new batch completes its course within the stipulated duration,” said Mr. Chauhan.

FTII Limbo

Gajendra Chauhan, an actor-turned-politician, was appointed as the chairman of Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) on June 9, 2015. His appointment triggered an >indefinite strike by students of the institute on June 12.

Who is Chauhan?

Mr. Chauhan is best known as 'Yudhisthira' in the Mahabharata TV series aired on television in 1988-90. He has been associated with BJP for over two decades but formally joined the party in 2004.

Why protest?

Students of FTII have questioned Mr. Chauhan's body of work and "creative credentials." The students doubt if Mr. Chauhan can fit in the shoes of predecessors like R.K. Laxman, Syam Benegal, Girish Karnad and U.R. Ananthamurthy.

Political vendetta?

Students claim that Mr. Chauhan's appointment is an attempt of the ruling party to foist its right-wing agenda upon the Institute.


Besides, prominent film personalities, All India Students' Association (AISA), the Kolkata-based Satyajit Ray Film Institute, and students at the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) are all coming out strongly in support of the striking students.

  • If they don't want you, they don't want you. Pushing for the chairmanship is getting you no where. Let self pride play a role and retire

    - >Rishi Kapoor

  • FTII needs to be in safe hands. Students need somebody who they can trust and look up to. It's their future which is at stake here.

    >- Rajkumar Rao

  • This is something we should be talking about and by this we will clearly know that it is a mistake and that he has no credentials...If I would have been in place of Chauhan and I would have seen that my fraternity does not want me, I would have withdrawn.

    >- Amol Palekar

  • Don't think what the students are asking for is illogical, don't think they are asking for the moon. They are just asking for a fair chance, a fair opportunity, correct faculty, correct syllabus.

    - Ranbir Kapoor

  • I have neither been approached by students nor by authorities. But being an alumnus of this institute to which I owe my film career, I am more than willing to step in and sort out matters if given the chance to do so.

    - >Shatrughan Sinha

Prominent chairmen

Anwar Jamal Kidwai
(1974 - 1977)

First chairman, founder of Mass Communication Research centre at Jamia Millia Islamia.

>R.K. Laxman
(1977- 1980)

Legendary cartoonist, Padma Bhushan, Vibhushan. Known for creating the character "Common Man".

> Shyam Benegal
(1981 - 1983)
(1989 - 1992)

Known for pioneering parallel cinema. Recipient of Dadasaheb Phalke Award among others.

> Mahesh Bhatt
(1995- 1998)

Award-winning director, screenwriter, producer in mainstream Hindi cinema.

>U.R. Ananthamurthy

Eminent author, Padma Bhushan. Pioneered Navya movement in Kannada language.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 25, 2021 7:25:15 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/2016-ftii-batch-will-complete-course-on-time-chauhan/article8349110.ece

Next Story