Congress, six other parties move to impeach CJI Dipak Misra

Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Kapil Sibal, CPI leader D. Raja at a press meet in New Delhi on April 20, 2018.   | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy

Opposition parties, led by the Congress, on Friday met Vice-President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu and handed over a notice for impeachment of Chief Justice of India (CJI) Dipak Misra.

The CPI, CPI(M), NCP, SP, BSP and the IUML are the parties that have agreed to the motion.

At a press conference, Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad said, “We have moved a motion for impeachment against the CJI, on five grounds of misbehaviour.

According to the Constitution, a minimum of 50 members are required to agree to the motion.”


71 MPs support motion: Azad

Mr. Azad claimed to have 71 members supporting the motion.

"We wish that this day had never come. As representatives of people we are entitled to hold the CJI accountable just as we are accountable," said Congress leader and Rajya Sabha member Kapil Sibal.

The leaders of the Opposition parties met Mr. Azad in his chamber in Parliament earlier in the day. After the meeting, he confirmed that the leaders were moving the notice for impeachment.

The Opposition has been working on bringing various parties on board for a larger consensus on bringing an impeachment motion against the CJI.

While the Left parties, the NCP and the Congress are on board for moving a motion, some parties that signed the petition have backed out.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 22, 2021 9:08:14 PM |

Next Story