Opposition MPs propose change in Citizenship Bill

Move for dropping specific countries, religions

November 27, 2018 09:30 pm | Updated 09:30 pm IST - NEW DELHI

Trinamool MP Saugata Roy. File

Trinamool MP Saugata Roy. File

As Opposition MPs proposed an amendment to remove specific countries and religions from the contentious Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, at a joint parliamentary committee meeting on Tuesday, BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi wanted legal proceedings against six persecuted minorities to be dropped.

Ms. Lekhi’s amendment, if accepted, could mean that Bangladeshi Hindus lodged in detention centres in Assam, facing deportation or declared illegal foreigners would get relief.

The Bill proposes citizenship to six persecuted minorities — Hindus, Jains, Sikhs, Parsis, Christians and Buddhists from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, who came to India before 2014.

There has been vocal opposition to the Bill in BJP-ruled Assam as it would pave the way for giving citizenship, mostly to illegal Hindu migrants from Bangladesh in Assam, who came after March 1971, in violation of the agreement of the Assam Accord, 1985.

18 amendments

Around 40 lakh people in Assam have been excluded from the final draft of the National Register of Citizens (NRC) published on July 30.

The joint parliamentary committee, under the chairmanship of BJP MP Rajendra Agarwal, went through clause-by-clause amendments to the Bill.

It should say that any person who leaves his country due to religious, linguistic and ethnic discrimination should be eligible for Indian citizenship

It deliberated on the amendment moved by Trinamool Congress MP Saugata Roy and Congress MP Sushmita Dev to make it religion and country neutral.

“I have moved an amendment that no specific religion or country should be named. Instead of that the Bill should say that any person who leaves his country due to religious, linguistic and ethnic discrimination should be eligible for Indian citizenship as stipulated in the amended Bill,” Mr. Roy told The Hindu .

Mr Roy said that it should be made country neutral too. “Why only Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan, in the past we have had refugees seeking asylum from Sri Lanka and Myanmar too. Instead of listing the countries it should be made neutral,” he added.

A senior government official said that as many as 18 amendments were moved in the 30-member committee comprising 13 BJP MPs.

The Biju Janata Dal has two members and AIADMK has one member.

Both the parties have maintained a neutral stand helping the ruling BJP.

“One of the MPs moved an amendment to drop Bangladesh from the Bill and only include Pakistan and Bangladesh,” said the official.

The official said that voting on amendments will be taken up at the next sitting. “We have discussed each of the amendment in detail today. I will try to build a consensus, if that is not possible then there will be a voting. Our attempt would be to submit the report in the winter session of Parliament,” committee chairperson Rajendra Agarwal said.

The committee was formed in 2016 and its term will end with the 16th Lok Sabha in May 2019. “The amendments are basically a polite way of tearing up the Bill,” an opposition MP said.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.