Hormusji N. Cama new PTI Chairman, Riyad Mathew vice-chairman

Hormusji N Cama, Managing Director of Bombay Samachar was on Monday unanimously elected as the Chairman of the Press Trust of India (PTI).  

Hormusji N Cama, Director of Bombay Samachar and Riyad Mathew, Director of Malayala Manorama, were today unanimously elected Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively of the Press Trust of India.

Mr. Cama, whose daily is the oldest continuously-published newspaper in India from 1855, succeeds Mahendra Mohan Gupta, Chairman and Managing Director of the Jagran Prakashan.

Mr. Mathew succeeds him as the Vice Chairman.

The election took place at a meeting of the Board of Directors following the Company’s 67th Annual General Meeting (AGM) in New Delhi.

Mr. Cama has served two terms as president of the Indian Newspaper Society (INS) and is currently the Chairman of the Readership Studies Council of India apart from being on the Board of Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC) and Council for Fair Business Practices. He has been member of the Press Council for two terms earlier and has again been nominated to the Council last year.

Mr. Mathew, who is also a Senior Assistant Editor of the Malayala Manorama, looks after the Week, one of India’s leading news magazines. He holds a masters degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and has worked as a correspondent with Associated Press (AP) in Washington.

Besides Mr. Cama, Mr. Mathew and Mr. Gupta, members of the PTI Board are:

K.N. Shanth Kumar (Deccan Herald), Vineet Jain (Times of India), Aveek Kumar Sarkar (Ananda Bazar Patrika), Viveck Goenka (Indian Express), N Ravi (The Hindu), M.P. Veerendra Kumar (Mathrubhumi), Sanjoy Narayan (Hindustan Times), Vijay Kumar Chopra (Hind Samachar) and R. Lakshmipathy (Dinamalar).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 22, 2022 2:32:56 PM |

Next Story