MHA order on merging police forces in 6 UTs kept in abeyance

The Union Home Ministry has put in abeyance a notification issued last month to amalgamate senior ranks of police from Chandigarh and five other Union Territories including Delhi.

MHA had last month notified the National Capital Territory of Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Chandigarh (Police Service) Rules, 2018.

The decision to include Chandigarh in the unified force was opposed by both the Congress party government in Punjab and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), a member of the BJP-led ruling National Democratic Alliance at the Centre.

Food Processing Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal of the SAD has written to Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh urging the preservation of the status quo as regards the police force in Chandigarh. She also met Prime Minister Narendra Modi to seek his intervention on the issue.

Chandigarh, a Union Territory is also the common capital of Punjab and Haryana States. As per an earlier reorganisation Act 6, ,60% police officers posted there were from Punjab and 40% were from Haryana.

There are about 533 posts in the six UTs (excluding Puducherry) that will be covered under the new rules that includes the posts of assistant commissioners of police and deputy superintendents of police.

These postings, which were till now decided by the respective UT administrators were put at the disposal of the Centre.

A senior government official said the decision to merge the police forces was based on a 2012 report of the Intelligence Bureau (IB) detailing the “corruption and extortion nexus” of policemen posted in Chandigarh.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 28, 2021 8:59:27 PM |

Next Story