Vanamithra Award announced

January 12, 2021 01:38 am | Updated 01:40 am IST - THIRUVANANTHAPURAM

The Forest Department has declared the winners of the Vanamithra Award that are given to individuals, educational institutions, voluntary organisations and farmers in each district for biodiversity conservation.

Wildlife and Natural Care (Thiruvananthapuram); Coastal Kerala Police Association (Kollam); Madhavakurup Madhavam, Adoor (Pathanamthitta); K.G. Ramesh Pranavam, Kandalloor (Alappuzha); Ashokan R. Kizhakedath, Anikkad (Kottayam); K. Bulbedhran Kochukalayil, South Kathipara (Idukki); Commanding Officer, NSS Venduruthy (Ernakulam); Gopalakrishnan K.R., Kalanparambil House (Thrissur); Bemmannur GHS, Paruthipully (Palakkad); Girija Balakrishnan, Anamangad (Malappuram); Avaas Thiruvambady (Kozhikode); Jayasree H.S.S. Kalluvayal, Pulpally (Wayanad); Shimjith N. Kanjirad, Thillenkeri (Kannur); and Abdul Kareem, Parappa (Kasaragod) were adjudicated the winners.The awards, consisting a cash award of ₹25000 and a citation, will be given away on the occasion of International Day of Forests on March 21.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.