Rajya Rani Express to run independent

Bowing to the long-pending demand of commuters, Railways have decided to run the Rajya Rani Express to Nilambur Road as an independent train from May 9 onwards.

But, the new express train will operate from Kochuveli terminal instead of Thiruvananthapuram Central. At present, the Rajya Rani Express is being attached to the rake of the Thiruvananthapuram Central-Madurai-Thiruvananthapuram Central Amritha Expresses that operate via Palakkad junction.

Railway sources said, Rajya Rani Express as an independent train, had been approved by the Railway Board and the circular to this effect had been issued by the Southern Railway.

The passengers associations and commuters had been seeking a direct train from Nilambur Road to the State capital. The commuters, especially those from Malappuram, would be benefited most by Rajya Rani Express turning an independent train.

The 16349 Kochuveli-Nilambur Road Rajya Rani Express and the 16350 Nilambur Road-Kochuveli Rajya Rani Express would operate via the Amritha Link line and would not touch Shoranur junction from May 9, the officials said. The Rajya Rani Express would have one 2 Tier AC, one 3 Tier AC, 7 Sleeper Class, 2 Unreserved, 1 Differently abled and one Luggage-cum-Break van coaches.

Train 16349 would depart from Kochuveli terminal at 8.50 p.m. to reach Nilambur Road 7.50 a.m. Train 16350 would depart from Nilambur road at 8.50 p.m. to reach Kochuveli terminal at 6 a.m.

The 16343/1344 Thiruvananthapuram Central-Madurai-Thiruvananthapuram Central Amritha Expresses had been given additional stoppage at Kollencode from May 9. The stoppage was in view of the Rajya Rani Expess skipping Shoranur junction, according to Senior Divisional Operations Manager, Palakkad.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 9, 2021 3:48:40 PM |

Next Story