Highest victory margin for Joseph

His ninth term from Thodupuzha

May 21, 2016 12:00 am | Updated September 12, 2016 07:33 pm IST - IDUKKI:

Kerala Congress (M) leader P.J. Joseph got the highest victory margin of 45,587 votes in the State in Thodupuzha.

This is his ninth term from the constituency — of the ten elections he contested from both the United Democratic Front (UDF) and Left Democratic Front (LDF) camps.

Mr. Joseph defeated U.K. Chacko in 1970 with a margin of 1,635 votes.

He represented the constituency for four consecutive terms till he was defeated by P.T. Thomas in 2001.

Prior to that, Mr. Joseph defeated Mr. Thomas in 1996. Though the Congress could not win any seat in Idukki district, KC(M)’s Mr. Joseph and Roshy Augustine (Idukki) could keep the UDF flag flying in the district.

While Mr. Augustine is representing the constituency for the fourth consecutive term, E.S. Bjimol (Peerumade) of the Communist Party of India and S. Rajendran (Devikulam) of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) are representing the constituencies for the third consecutive term.

M.M. Mani, the former district secretary of the CPI(M), is being elected for the first time to the Assembly from Udumbanchola.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.