DCC move against leaders who opposed Aranmula airport project

November 24, 2013 06:57 pm | Updated November 17, 2021 12:04 am IST - PATHANAMTHITTA:

The District Congress Committee (DCC) leadership meet held here on Saturday has decided not to participate those who opposed the Aranmula airport project at various meetings of the party.

In a statement issued here on Sunday, P. Mohanraj, DCC president, said the party decision was against those leaders, whatever high position they held in the party, who had been opposing the airport project.

Mr. Mohanraj said the proposed airport project was supposed to bring about overall development of the district, besides immense job opportunities to the unemployed youth.

Mr. Mohanraj also demanded an inquiry into the government decision exempting the Mount Zion College of Engineering at Kadammanitta and the upcoming Medical College at Vadasserikkara from land tax in the name of higher education.

Kasturirangan panel report

The DCC meeting called upon the government not to take any stand on the basis of the Kasturirangan Committee report that would adversely affect the people residing in the hilly tracts.

The ongoing campaign unleashed by certain quarters against the report was aimed at misleading the public in the backdrop of the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, the DCC president alleged. Mr. Mohanraj said the negative campaign of certain political parties in the hilly tracts would lead to social unrest and violence.

The DCC meeting also decided to launch a vehicular campaign in the hilly tracts with a view to remove the public apprehension over the stand adopted by the party and the government on the Kasturirangan panel report.

Mr. Mohanraj presided the DCC meeting. T. Saratchandraprasad, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee general secretary; Philip Joseph, KPCC secretary; Satheesh Kochuparampil, A. Shamsuddin, R. Induchoodan, Babu George, K. Jayavarma, Mathew Kulathumkal, Abraham George Pachayil, Haridas Idathitta, N.Shylaj, Konniyoor P.K, George Mammen Kondoor, Omni Eapen, Pazhakulam Sivadasan, Therakath Mani, Vettoor Jyotiprasad, Samule Kizhakkupuram, Robin Parumala, and Kunjoonjamma Kunju, all DCC office-bearers, spoke.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.