Qatar World Cup 2022Messi: Angry for missing penalty, but Argentina came out stronger after my mistake

Byelections in four wards on May 17

April 19, 2022 09:30 pm | Updated 09:30 pm IST - Thiruvananthapuram

District Collector Navjot Khosa reviewed the arrangements for byelections in four local body wards in the district on Tuesday.

Byelections will be held on May 17 to Kannaravila in Athiyannur grama panchayat; Arasumoodu in Poovar grama panchayat; Maruthikunnu in Navayikulam grama panchayat; and Kodithookiyakunnu in Kallara grama panchayat.

Candidates can submit nomination papers till April 27. The papers can be given from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Scrutiny of the papers will be held on April 28. Only four persons, including the candidate, candidate’s election agent, nominee mentioned in the nomination papers, and one person named by the candidate can be admitted at the time of scrutiny.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 30. The final list of candidates will be published the same evening. The election symbols will be allowed after that.

Ms. Khosa directed the returning officers to convene a meeting of political parties ahead of symbol allotment.

Voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. on May 17. Counting of votes will be held on May 18. Deputy Collector (Elections) Suresh K.; returning officers and assistant returning officers of all the four wards; election registration officers; district information officer G. Binsi Lal; and Collectorate officials participated in the meeting.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.