A.V. Russel elected CPI(M) district secretary in Kottayam

38-member district committee also elected

January 15, 2022 11:21 pm | Updated 11:21 pm IST - KOTTAYAM

A district conference of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) that came to a close at Kottayam on Saturday re- elected A.V. Russel as the party district secretary.The meeting also elected a 38-member district committee including four women and a ten-member district secretariat.The fresh faces in the District Committee also included K.R.Ajay, District president of the DYFI Kottayam district and Vazhoor Area secretary V.G. Lal.Mr. Russel, 60, replaced V.N .Vasavan to become the CPI(M) district secretary in March last year following the latter’s election to the State legislature. He had started his public life as the DYFI Block Secretary and went on to become a Central Committee member of the Youth organisation.Having served as the Changanassery Area secretary of the CPI(M) for 12 years, he has been a member of the [party district committee for 24 years. As many as 189 party delegates including 39 district committee members had attended the district conference.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.