Qatar World Cup 2022FIFA World Cup 2022 LIVE | Belgium out after goalless draw with Croatia, Morocco top Group F

LDF retains Kollam Corporation

October 27, 2010 06:07 pm | Updated 06:08 pm IST - KOLLAM:

The Left Democratic Front (LDF) has retained the Kollam Corporation winning 34 divisions in the 55-member council. The break up being CPI(M) won 20 divisions, the CPI 7 and the RSP 7.

The United Democratic Front (UDF) had to be satisfied with 19 divisions. The break up being Congress 16 and one each for the Janadhipathya Samrakshana Samithi (JSS), the RSP (Baby John) and the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML). Interestingly the People's Democratic Party led by Abdul Nasir Maudany won in one division and a Congress rebel won in another division.

The Mayor's post is reserved for a woman and that will go to the CPI(M). Nine women from the party have made it to the council. But Sabida Beegum of the CPI(M) who was the first Mayor of Kollam city lost to a Congress candidate from the Kureepuzha division by nine votes.

From the LDF side, the CPI(M) had contested 13 divisions, the CPI 14, the RSP 9 and the Janata Dal (S) and the NCP one each. The Congress had contested 41 divisions, the IUML 5, the RSP(B) 3 and the CMP, the JSS, the Kerala Congress (B) and the Socialist Janata (Democratic) in one each.

From the 55 divisions, the LDF candidate S. Jayan of the CPI(M) won with the highest margin of 1,127 votes from the Vallikeezhu division. LDF candidate J. Stanley of the CPI(M) got the highest score of 2,294 votes. But the LDF candidate S. Sulafa of the CPI(M) from Punnamoodu won by a margin of just one vote.

The victorious candidates are:

1) Maruthadi: Alphonse Philip (UDF-Congress); 2) Shakthikulangara (woman): S. Meenakumari (LDF-RSP); 3) Meenathucherry: Stanley Vincent (UDF-RSP-B); 4) Kavanad: G. Muralibabu (UDF-Congress); 5) Vallikeezhu: Jayan S. (LDF-CPI-M); 6) Kureepuzha (Woman): Maya Gopikrishnan (UDF-Congress); 7) Mulamadakam (SC_Woman): Maya Ganesh (UDF-Congress); 8) Thevally (SC): K. Gopinathan (LDF-RSP); 9) Vadakumbhagam (Woman): Honey Varghese (LDF-CPI); 10) Asramam (Woman): P. Sreekumari (LDF-RSP); 11) Uliyakovil: Uliyakovil Sasi (LDF-CPI); 12) Punnathanam (Woman): S. Sulafa (LDF-CPI(M); 13) Kadappakada (Woman): O. Jayasree (UDF-Congress); 14) Punnamoodu: V. Rajendrababu (LDF-CPI-M); 15) Koikkal: S. Sreekumar (UDF-Congress); 16) Palakadavu: G. Sateesh Kumar (Ind); 17) Mangadu: G. Lalu (LDF-CPI); 18) Arunoottimangalam (Woman): Manju S.(LDF-CPI-M); 19) Chathinnamkulam (Woman): Leelamma (LDF-RSP); 20) Karikodu (Woman): Suja Krishnan (LDF-CPI-M); 21) College Division (Woman): Ajitha G. (LDF-CPI-M); 22) Paalkulangara (Woman): Geethakumari S. (LDF-CPI-M); 23) Kilikollur: Lailakumari (UDF-Congress); 24) Punthalathazham (Woman): S. Bindu (UDF-Congress); 25) Mulluvila (Woman): Prasanna Vijayan (LDF-CPI); 26) Paalathara (Woman): S.R. Bindu (UDF-Congress); 27) Manakkadu (Woman): Naseema Shihab (LDF-CPI-M); 28) Kayyalakkal (Woman): Majeeda Wahab (UDF-Muslim league); 29) Koottikada: M. Kamaludeen (Others-PDP); 30) Valathungal (Woman): J. Chithra (LDF-CPI-M); 31) Akkolil (Woman) B. Vasanthakumari (LDF-CPI-M); 32) Thekkumbhagam: Binu M.J. (LDF-RSP); 33) Eravipuram: S. Ashok Kumar (LDF-CPI-M); 34) Kollurvila: Hamsathu Beevi (UDF-Congress); 35) Pallimukku: N. Noushad (LDF-RSP); 36) Ayathil : M. Noushad (LDF-CPI-M); 37) Ammanadda: Prem Ushar (UDF-JSS); 38) Vadakkevila (Woman): O.K. Lakshmikutty (LDF-CPI); 39) Pattathanam (SC Woman) : Sindhu L. (UDF-Congress); 40) Bharanikavu (Woman): Hema Chandrababu (LDF-CPI); 41) Thekkevila: K.P. Sajinath (LDF-CPI-M); 42) Mundakkal: R. Prasanna Kumar (LDF-CPI-M); 43) Udayamarthandapuram (Woman): Santhini Subhadevan (UDF-Congress); 44) Cantonment: C.V. Anil Kumar(UDF-Congress); 45) Thamarakulam (Woman): Prasanna Earnest (LDF-CPI-M); 46) Pallithottam: N. Tomy (LDF-CPI); 47) Port: George D. kattil (UDF-Congress); 48) Kaikulangara: R. Robin (LDF-CPI-M); 49)Cutchery: G. Anandan (LDF-CPI-M); 50) Tangasseri: J. Stanley (LDF-CPI-M); 51) Punnathala: Udaya Sukumaran (UDF-Congress); 52) Thirumullavaram: Rekha Unnikrishnan (LDF-CPI-M); 53) Ramankulangara (SC): N. Janardhanan (LDF-CPI-M); 54) Vattakayal(Woman): Mini Harikumar (LDF-RSP); 55) Kannimel (Woman): Vimala Philip (UDF-Congress).

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.