4 new faces on CPI executive panel

Agriculture Minister V.S. Sunil Kumar has been dropped from the reconstituted CPI State executive committee, which has four new faces.

Meeting for the first time here on Tuesday after its reconstitution at the Malappuram State conference in March, the CPI State Council inducted four new members -- P. Vasantham, A.K. Chandran, Rajaji Mathew Thomas, and P.P. Suneer - on its 21-member State executive committee.

They have taken the places of Mr. Sunil Kumar, P.K. Krishnan (Kottayam), Kamala Sadanandan, and V.V. Binu. The reconstitution involved change in 20% of the membership of the committee as mandated by the party constitution.

Significantly, the State Council decided not to disturb senior leader C. Divakaran, who was dropped from the National Council at the CPI’s 23rd Party Congress held in Kollam last month along with Ms. Sadanandan.

C.N. Chandran, former State assistant secretary, has also been retained despite reports that he does not have good equations with the current State leadership.

Ms. Vasantham has been inducted in place of Ms. Sadanandan.

The State Council re-elected Prakash Babu and Sathyan Mokeri as State assistant secretaries.

Mr. Babu has been re-elected to the post for the third time and Mr. Mokeri for the second time.

The meeting also elected K.R Chandramohanan (Kollam) as party treasurer.

The other members on the State executive committee are party State secretary Kanam Rajendran, Revenue Minister E. Chandrasekharan, K.P. Rajendran, C.N. Jayadevan, MP, J. Chinchurani, N. Rajan, C.A.Kurian, T. Purushothaman, V. Chamunny, K. Rajan, Mullakkara Ratnakaran, and P. Prasad,

The meeting also elected C.P. Murali (Kannur) as control commission chairman.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 25, 2021 10:13:19 AM |

Next Story