16.93 lakh voters to decide fate of 75 in the fray

May 16, 2016 12:00 am | Updated September 12, 2016 01:40 pm IST - ALAPPUZHA:

The fate of 75 candidates for the State Assembly election in nine constituencies will be decided by 16,93,155 voters in the district on Monday.

The voters, consisting of 8,03,413 men and 8,89,742 women, are to exercise their right to franchise at 1,469 polling stations.

Electronic Voting Machines consisting of 2,500 ballot units and 1,986 control units will be utilised for the polling exercise, according to District Electoral Officer and Collector R. Girija. Each constituency will have an additional number of voting machines, to the extent of 25 per cent of the total number of machines being deployed, for the purpose of replacement of faulty ones during the course of polling.

The Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) system will be launched for the first time in Assembly elections in the district. As many as 150 VVPAT machines are available in the district. These will be used in 91 select polling booths.

The VVPAT machine has a printing unit that prints the serial number, name and symbol of the candidate for whom the vote is cast, and could be visible to the voter for a few seconds before getting deposited in an attached chamber automatically. The printout will not carry any detail of the voter and cannot be removed.

As many as 1,818 police officers have been deployed for providing security to the polling stations. This apart, 648 personnel from the Central armed police force have been assigned duty at different centres.

The armed police force has been conducting route marches in various constituencies during the past few days.

Group patrolling by the police has been intensified. Seventeen striking forces under the control of a Deputy Superintendent of Police and 72 striking force personnel under a Superintendent of Police have been arranged to ensure security. The police have opened a separate control room for coordinating security arrangements.

The voting machines were distributed to the respective officials at stipulated centres in each constituency on Sunday.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.