Railways back in Karnataka’s kitty

Updated - November 16, 2021 08:40 pm IST

Published - June 18, 2013 10:03 am IST - Bangalore:

With M. Mallikarjun Kharge being allotted the Railways portfolio in the Union Cabinet reshuffle on Monday, the Ministry has returned to Karnataka after a short gap.

Monday’s reshuffle has also increased the number of Ministers at the Centre from Karnataka to five, with Oscar Fernandes being given the Roads and Highways Ministry portfolio.

The Railways has been with Karnataka on and off since 1963. H.C. Dasappa, C.M. Poonacha, Kengal Hanumanthaiya and C.K. Jaffer Sharief are among those from the State who have held the portfolio.

Basanagouda R. Patil Yatnal and K.H. Muniyappa have also been Ministers of State for Railways.

Mr. Kharge’s move to the Railway Ministry is seen as the party high command’s “reward” for his loyalty.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.