Panel finalises three names for VTU V-C

September 26, 2022 09:35 pm | Updated 09:36 pm IST - Belagavi

The search committee appointed to look for a new Vice-Chancellor of Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) has short-listed names of three people, including Anand S. Deshpande, VTU Registrar (Academic).

The others are Gopal Mugeraya, Director, National Institute of Technology-Goa, and S. Vidyashankar, Vice-Chancellor, Karnataka State Open University.

Dr. Deshpande has served as principal and professor of mechanical engineering in Gogte Institute of Technology in Belaglavi earlier. He has been serving as VTU Registrar for the last few years.

Dr. Mugeraya has served as Director NIT-Agartala and professor of bio-chemical engineering in NIT-Karnataka for three decades.

Dr. Vidyashankar has served as professor of mechanical engineering in Bangalore Institute of Technology before his appointment as KSOU Vice-Chancellor.

The search committee of four persons has submitted its recommendation to the office of the Governor and Chancellor. The Governor is expected to announce the appointment in two-three days, a university officer said.

The search committee members were Himanshu Rai, Director, IIM Indore, M.S. Shivakumar, former Vice-Chancellor of CMR university, Kripa Shanker, former Vice-Chancellor of Uttar Pradesh Technical University, and Jitendra Nayak, architect and Executive Director of Sujirkars Group, a Hubballi-based business house.

The term of Vice-Chancellor Karisiddappa ends this month.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.