No hurdle for seven JD(S) rebel MLAs to vote in RS polls

High Court adjourns hearing till April 2

March 22, 2018 11:20 pm | Updated 11:20 pm IST - Bengaluru

There will be no obstacle for the seven rebel MLAs of the Janata Dal (S) to cast their votes in Friday’s election to the Rajya Sabha as the High Court of Karnataka on Thursday adjourned till April 2 the hearing on the petition related to a plea for their disqualification.

Justice Raghavendra S. Chauhan adjourned further hearing on the request made by Jayakumar S. Patil, senior advocate appearing on behalf of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

The petition has been filed by two JD(S) MLAs, C.N. Balakrishna and B.B. Ningaiah, complaining that the Speaker had failed to give his decision on the petitioners’ plea, filed in 2016 for disqualifying the seven MLAs for voting in favour of the Congress candidate in the elections held to the Rajya Sabha in 2016 by violating the party’s whip.

The seven rebel MLAs are B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan, A.B. Ramesh Bandisidde Gowda, N. Cheluvarayaswamy, H.C. Balakrishna, Akhanda Sriniva Murthy R., Iqbal Ansari, and S. Bheemanaik.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.