Karnataka's leadership crisis - a timeline

July 11, 2012 07:15 pm | Updated November 17, 2021 10:59 am IST

Karnataka, the first and only southern territory the Bharatiya Janata Party has managed to conquer so far, has ironically been the biggest thorn in its flesh. Ever since it came to limelight and later to power under veteran B.S. Yeddyurappa, it has been a roller coaster ride, both for him and the party. However, Yeddyurappa has remained at the centre of the state’s politics — either as king or kingmaker.


Karnataka returns >hung Assembly ; BJP leads tally (79 seats) followed by Congress (65) and Janata Dal (Secular) (58)

Congress and JD(S) >join hands to keep BJP out; N. Dharam Singh of Congress becomes CM and Siddharamiah of the JD(S) his deputy


H.D. Kumaraswamy >revolts , withdraws support to Congress; 46 JD(S) MLAs support him | >Photo gallery: Karnataka political drama

The Kumaraswamy-led JD(S) faction and BJP strike a deal, decide to share power for 20 months each

Kumaraswamy >becomes Chief Minister with BJP strongman B.S. Yediyurappa as his deputy. (Yediyurappa changed the spelling of his name to Yeddyurappa in 2007 on an astrologer’s advice)


Rift between ruling partners over power sharing surfaces in October

October 2: Kumaraswamy >announces he won’t step down; BJP ministers resign

October 4: Kumaraswamy >meets Governor, decides to face floor test

October 6: BJP announces >withdrawal of support

October 7: BJP submits >letter of withdrawal to Governor

October 8: Kumaraswamy >resigns ; Governor recommends dissolution of Assembly and President’s Rule

October 9: >President’s Rule in Karnataka

October 27: JD(S) >proposes partyman M.P. Prakash’s name for Chief Ministership if Congress supports him

October 28: JD(S) springs another surprise, >backs Yeddyurappa for Chief Minister; BJP stakes claim to form government

October 29: BJP, JD(S) >parade legislators before Governor

November 4: : BJP, JD(S) MLAs to >meet President

November 9: Yeddyurappa >invited to form government

November 13: Yeddyurappa >sworn in Chief Minister; BJP gets first party-led government in south

November 18: Gowda directs JD(S) to >vote against government as BJP refuses to sign a power-sharing agreement

November 19: Eight-day-old BJP-led government in Karnataka falls; Yeddyurappa >quits

November 20: Karnataka comes under President’s Rule once again


May 10, 16, 22: Karnataka goes to polls

May 25: BJP emerges >largest party with 110 seats, three short of majority; Congress comes second (80 seats) and JD(S) a poor third (28 seats)

May 30: Yeddyurappa takes over as the >19th Chief Minister of Karnataka


October 26: Bellary ministers G. Janardhan Reddy, B. Sriramulu and G. Karunakara Reddy revolt against Yeddyurappa; want >change of guard

November 9: BJP central leaders make >peace between the Yeddyurappa and Reddy factions

November 9: Yeddyurappa loyalist Shobha Karandlaje >resigns


September 20: Cabinet >expansion plan stirs up a hornet's nest; 20 BJP MLAs threaten to resign

September 21: Yeddyurappa drops Shivanagouda Nayak and Gulihatti D. Shekhar from >ministry ; move seen as a message to Bellary ministers

December 28: Advocates Sirajin Basha and K.N. Balaraj meet Governor H.R. Bhardwaj, seeking to prosecute Yeddyurappa on charges of corruption and nepotism


January 21: Bhardwaj sanctions >prosecution of Yeddyurappa

February 6: Yeddyurappa >declares assets; include 18.23 acres of land, 2.5 kg of gold and about Rs. 33.4 lakh in bank deposits

July 21: Court upholds Lokayukta police >inquiry against Yeddyurappa

July 27: Lokayukta indicts Yeddyurappa; his cabinets colleagues — the >Reddy brothers , B. Sriramulu and V. Somanna — too are indicted

July 27: Report details Reddys’ rule over ‘ >Republic of Bellary

July 31: Yeddyurappa resigns after putting up a >resistance for five days

| >Slideshow: The rise and fall of Yeddyurappa

August 3: Governor accepts >mining report , grants sanction to prosecute Yeddyurappa

August 4: Sadananda Gowda >succeeds Yeddyurappa | >Gowda’s claim to fame

October 15: >Arrest warrant against Yeddyurappa, surrenders in Lokayukta court

November 8: Yeddyurappa >freed on bail


March 7: High Court >quashes FIR against Yeddyurappa

May 21: Chargesheet filed against Yeddyurappa in >land scam

June 14: FIR registered against Yeddyurappa in >land allotment case

June 29: >Eight ministers from Yeddyurappa camp quit

July 8: BJP gives in to Yeddyurappa’s pressure; >Jagadish Shettar to replace Gowda | Editorial: >Regent of Karnataka

July 11: >Gowda resigns , Governor invites Shettar to form govt.

Compiled by Nazir Ahamed and Sharanya Kannan

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.