• The Package

Karnataka turmoil: two trust votes in 10 days

Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy during the trust vote on his government in the Assembly on July 23, 2019. Photo: ANI

Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy during the trust vote on his government in the Assembly on July 23, 2019. Photo: ANI  

The Karnataka Assembly has witnessed two confidence motions within 10 days.

After more than two weeks of political drama, the Congress-JD(S) coalition government lost the trust vote in the Assembly on July 23, 2019. A coalition has lost power once again, for the second time in two decades.

The government was reduced to a minority: the Congress-JD(S) combine’s tally dropped to 99 in the 225-member Assembly. While 105 votes were polled against the trust motion moved by Chief Minister Kumaraswamy, the lone BSP MLA abstained from voting.

The BJP came back to power in the southern State with its State president B.S. Yediyurappa sworn in as the Chief Minister for the fourth time.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

In This Package
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
In This Package
Karnataka Speaker disqualifies 14 more rebel MLAs till end of Assembly term
Deve Gowda says JD(S) will sit in Opposition
Congress, JD(S) slam Governor’s decision
Yediyurappa preaches ‘forgive and forget’ mantra
Speaker’s decision on rebel Congress MLAs hastens BJP move
Timeline: How the Karnataka political crisis unfolded...
Works sanctioned, transfers done in July put on hold in Karnataka
From Yeddyurappa to Yediyurappa: BJP leader reverts to old spelling after 12 years
Yediyurappa takes oath as CM, to face floor test on Monday
Yeddyurppa’s tryst with the trust votes
Karnataka Assembly: Congress-JD(S) government loses trust vote
BJP will stake claim, says Muralidhar Rao
Of political immaturity and power politics in the State
The nail-biting final five minutes outside the House
Political instability will haunt you, HDK tells BSY
BSP MLA expelled for abstaining from trust vote
Karnataka political crisis: How it took root and grew
Karnataka trust vote put off again
‘Legislature party leader has the right to issue whip’: Speaker
Endless parleys and behind-the-scenes drama
Independent Karnataka MLAs seek SC deadline for trust vote
Decide on rebel MLAs first, then hold trust vote: Coalition
JD(S), Congress leaders discuss possibility of leadership change to save government
Kumaraswamy appeals to rebel MLAs to return
We rebelled to protect our self-respect, say 12 MLAs
Now, Rahim Khan alleges BJP attempted to ‘buy’ him
‘Vishwanath has betrayed party that gave him political rebirth’
Karnataka political crisis had its genesis in Belagavi
A weekend of impatient waiting for Congress–JD(S) combine, BJP
The curious case of ‘missing’ MLA rocks House
Karnataka CM asked to prove majority by 1.30 p.m. on July 19
Karnataka political crisis: case of missing Congress MLA stalls Assembly
No question of going back on resignations, say rebel MLAs
What about our right to issue whip, ask Congress, JD(S) leaders
Karnataka trust vote: Odds heavily stacked against Kumaraswamy government