Karnataka government finalises five monuments for adoption by corporates

It is under ‘Adopt a Monument’ scheme announced in the State Budget

August 28, 2022 09:56 pm | Updated August 29, 2022 01:58 pm IST - MYSURU:

Srirangapatana fort is among the five monuments finalized under Adopt a Monument scheme by the State Government.

Srirangapatana fort is among the five monuments finalized under Adopt a Monument scheme by the State Government. | Photo Credit: File Photo

The State Government has finalized five monuments under the Adopt a Monument scheme announced by the Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai in his Budget presentation earlier this year.

The five monuments – approved for the first phase of the project -  have been pruned from a larger list of 30 for adoption and this includes Gagan Mahal at Anegundi in Koppal district, Tajbavadi (Bavi) at Vijayapura, Koppal Fort in Koppal district, Raja’s Tomb at Madikeri and Srirangapatana Fort at Srirangapatana in Mandya district.

A. Devaraju, Commissioner, Department of Archaeology Museums and Heritage, told The Hindu that the government has cleared the project including the terms and conditions apart from the guidelines for adoption for which the GO was issued recently.

No ownership

However, he underlined that ‘adoption’ or ‘adopting’ a monument does not bestow ownership on the organisation selected for maintenance under the scheme.

“The corporate entity will provide basic amenities to enhance tourist or visitor experience and provide infrastructure without marring the physical and visual appeal of the monument. It is also ordained to take up conservation work where required. Every proposal will be scrutinized and vetted by the archaeologists of the department,” said Mr. Devaraju. The monuments listed for adoption under the scheme are under the State protected list and do not come under the ambit of the Archaeological Survey of India, he added.

Even with respect to conservation, the plans and the methodology should be in sync with the guidelines related to conservation of monuments and the State Archaeological Department will continuously monitor the works, he said.

The project will be jointly implemented by the Department of Archaeology Heritage and Museums and the Department of Tourism and the scheme will help develop a robust mechanism to provide basic amenities and facilities across the monuments in Karnataka, he added.

‘’We have 844 protected monuments and nearly 25,000 unprotected monuments in the State and it is an expensive affair to take up conservation of monuments like forts. Hence the scheme inviting proposals from private and public sector organisations will go a long way in off-setting the financial crunch, said Mr. Devaraju.

Smaraka Mitras

The organisation selected for adopting a monument would be known as Smaraka Mitras for providing basic tourist amenities and advanced amenities.

The advanced amenities include facilitation of night visits to heritage monuments under adaptive use, creating tourism facilitation centres with facilities like museums, souvenir shops promoting local art and craftsmanship, digital interactive kiosks and digital LED screening, sound and light show, battery-operated vehicles, etc.

The Centre had announced a similar scheme a few years ago but it ran into rough weather as it was interpreted to mean that the ownership of monuments were set to change which was not true.

Besides, Karnataka has already taken up conservation works under PPP model with matching funding under which Sri Dharmasthala Dharmothana Trust has taken up conservation of scores of monuments and other corporate bodies have also followed suit.

List of monuments for adoption by State Archaeological Department

The list of monuments that need conservation plus basic and advanced amenities includes: Srirangapatna Fort and Moat, Srirangapatna in Mandya district; Shiva temple, Theginnagatta, (Mandya); Sri Kasheshwara temple, Kashipura (Hassan); Govindeshwara and Nakeshwara temples, Koravangala (Hassan); Suralu palace, Pejamngoor (Udupi); Bahamani tombs, Holkonda (Kalaburagi); Fort, Devadurga (Raichur); Fort, Ramadurga (Raichur); Fort, Yadgir (Yadgir); Hill Fort, Yadgir (Yadgir); Tajbavadi, Vijayapura (Vijayapura); Srimantaghada Fort, Devihal (Gadag); Fort, Naragunda (Gadag); Parasagada Fort Savadatti (Belagavi); Bhuthanatha temple, Killatorgal (Belagavi)

The list of monuments requiring basic and advanced amenities includes: Fort and moat, Sira (Tumakuru); Rayagopura, Kalyani, Bhuvaneshwari Mantapa, Melkote (Mandya); Raja’s tomb, Madikeri (Kodagu); Nalakanad Palace, Yavakpadi village (Kodagu); Parvasu temple, Gundlupet (Chamarajanagar); Malkhed fort, Malkhed (Kalaburagi); Kumararamana Kumatadurga, Kumtadurga (Koppal); Anegundi fort, Gangavathi (Koppal); Gaganmahal, Anegundi (Koppal); Hampi monuments, Hampi (Vijanayanagar); Pre-historic and neolithic ash mound, Ballari (Ballari); Fort, Basavakalyana (Bidar); Yalluru Fort, Yalluru (Belagavi); Rani Channamma Palace, Fort and surroundings (Kittur) Belagavi.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.