Karnataka Governor announces cash award for Olympians

To felicitate them at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru

August 20, 2021 02:46 pm | Updated November 22, 2021 09:51 pm IST - Bengaluru

Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru, Karnataka.

Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru, Karnataka.

Karnataka Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot announced a cash award of ₹1 lakh each for three sportspersons who represented India at the Tokyo Olympic games in July 2021.

They are Aditi Ashok (golf), Fouaad Mirza (equestrian) and Srihari Nataraj (swimming).

The Governor also announced a cash prize of ₹1 lakh to women’s hockey coach Ankita Suresh.

Aditi Ashok and the women’s hockey team secured 4th place in their respective sports.

The Governor would soon arrange a function at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru to felicitate the sportspersons and the coach.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.