Karnataka bypoll results live | Congress-JD(S) alliance wins four of five bypoll constituencies

EVMs in the strongroom of Rao Bahadur Y. Mahabaleshwarappa Engineering College in Ballari. B.M. Siddalingaswamy

EVMs in the strongroom of Rao Bahadur Y. Mahabaleshwarappa Engineering College in Ballari. B.M. Siddalingaswamy

The ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition candidates in Karnataka won two Lok Sabha constituencies and two Assembly segments in the bypolls held on Saturday.

The BJP won the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat.

The results are being seen not just as an indicator of people’s mood ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, but also as something that may have a bearing on the stability of the Congress-JD(S) coalition. This is even though the results, technically, cannot bring down the government by affecting its numerical strength.

A total of 31 candidates were in the fray from all the five constituencies, though the contest is mainly between the Congress-JDS combine and the BJP.

Here are the updates:

The results have been declared for four seats as of now:

ShivamoggaB.Y. RaghavendraBJP
RamanagaramAnitha KumaraswamyJD(S)
JamkhandiAnand NyamgoudaCongress
MandyaL.R. Shivarame GowdaJD(S)
BallariV.S UgrappaCongress





12: 40 p.m.: B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP emerges victorious in Shivamogga parliamentary seat by a margin of 52,148 votes. He defeats Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S).

11:30 a.m.: After 16th round of counting, B.Y. Raghavendra leads by a margin of 50,225 votes against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S).

11: 00 a.m.: After completion of the 14th round, B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP is leading in Shivamogga by a margin of 48,311 votes against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S)

9: 50 a.m.: After the fifth round, B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP leads by a margin of 15,583 votes against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S). Mr. Raghavendra has secured 1,55,208 votes and Madhu Bangarappa- 1,39,625 votes.

9: 00 a.m.: B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP is leading in Shivamogga parliamentary seat against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S) by a margin of 4,674 votes. Mr. Raghavendra has secured 71,302 votes while Mr. Bangarappa has bagged 66,628 votes



1: 30 p.m.: V.S Ugrappa wins with a margin of 2,43,271 votes.

10: 45 a.m.: After 12 rounds, Congress's Ugrappa still leads with 4,44,341 while Shanta trails with 2,70,047.

9: 50 a.m.: After the sixth round of counting, Ugrappa still leads with 2,28,844 votes. Ms. Shanta has secured 1,28,121so far.

9: 30 a.m.: Ugrappa leads by 45,808 against J. Shanta after third round.  He has secured 111,367 votes and Shanta 65,559.

9: 00 a.m: Congress candidate V.S Ugrappa is leading by 17,480 votes against BJP's J Shantha.





11: 50 a.m.: L.R. Shivarame Gowda wins the seat in Mandya getting 5,53,374 votes. Siddaramaiah of the BJP gets 2,44,377 votes.

11: 20 a.m.: After the 16th round. L.R. Shivaramegowda of the JD (S) is leading by 2,86,299 votes. He has polled 5,01,782 votes against Siddaramaiah of the BJP, who has secured 2,15,483 votes. The number of NOTA votes is 13,618.

10: 30 a.m.: After the eighth round, L. R. Shivarame Gowda has secured 3,30,264 votes and Siddaramaiah - 1,28,211 votes.

9: 50 a.m.: JD(S) candidate L.R. Shivaramegowda leads with 1,60,299 votes against the BJP candidate Siddaramaiah (58,843 votes).

9: 00 a.m: After the second round,  the JD-S candidate in Mandya has increased the lead. He has secured 34,100, while his close contestant of BJP has polled 10,031 votes. The number of NOTA votes is 674




The Ramanagaram seat was vacated by H.D Kumaraswamy, who also won from the neighbouring Channapatna. His wife Anitha Kumaraswamy is in the fray.  BJP candidate L. Chandrasekhar abruptly retired from the contest.

12 noon: JD(S) candidate Anitha Kumaraswamy emerges victorious, winning by a margin of 109137 votes. She polled 1,25,043 votes and the BJP's L. Chandrashekhar secured 15,906 votes

10: 15 a.m.: After eighth round, Anitha Kumaraswamy has secured 54,868 votes, while BJP candidate L. Chandrasekhar has secured with 7,627 votes.

9: 00 a.m.: After the third round, Anitha Kumaraswamy  she is leading with 17,533 votes. The  votes polled bybthe BJP candidate is 2,720




The Jamkhandi seat fell vacant following the death of Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress.

Congress candidate Anand Nyamgouda wins by over 39,000 votes defeating BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni. Mr. Nyamgouda secured over 96,000 votes.

10: 30 a.m.: Anand Nyamgouda of the Congress is heading towards victory: He leads by 29,116 votes after the end of 12 rounds of counting.

9: 00 a.m.: After third round Anand Nyamgouda of Congress leads by 5,543 votes.

8: 45 a.m.: After the first round of counting, Congress candidate Anand Nyamgouda leads by 3,785 votes against BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni


8 am


Security beefed up

Officials said counting of votes would begin at five centres, one each in five constituencies, at 8 a.m. with a total of 1,248 counting staff deployed

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure to that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes, police officials said.

Police have been deployed around the counting centres and strongrooms where the EVMs are placed, they said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 6, 2022 4:13:58 am | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/karnataka-bypoll-results-live/article25432329.ece