Karnataka turmoil: two trust votes in 10 days

Karnataka Assembly: Congress-JD(S) government loses trust vote

Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy during the trust vote on his government in the Assembly on July 23, 2019. Photo: ANI  

The 14-month Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) government in Karnataka collapsed on Tuesday, with Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy losing the confidence motion in the Assembly by six votes. He later tendered his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala.

With the BJP announcing its decision to stake a claim to form a government, the transition of power and return of its State president B.S. Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister is imminent.

Heated debate

The motion was put to vote late in the evening, six days after Mr. Kumaraswamy moved it and after a protracted and heated debate on the issue of 15 resignations from the ruling parties allegedly engineered by the BJP. Though the outgoing Chief Minister was aware that the numbers were stacked against him, he said he “would not run away” from the House and resign, but put the motion to vote.

As Mr. Yeddyurappa also demanded that there be a division of vote, Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar counted the votes row by row. While 99 MLAs expressed confidence in the government, 105 opposed the motion. He announced that the motion was defeated and adjourned the House sine die.

In a House of 225 MLAs (including one nominated), 20 MLAs were not present at the time of voting. They were 15 rebel MLAs who have resigned — 12 from the Congress and 3 from the JD(S) — 2 Congress MLAs who abstained for health reasons, 2 Independents and the lone BSP MLA.

A jubilant Mr. Yeddyurappa termed the fall of the government as a “victory of democracy.”

He said after the trust vote, “A new era of development will begin in the State from tomorrow. My priority has always been farmers and I assure them that I will work towards their welfare.”

In a tweet outgoing Congress president Rahul Gandhi said, “From its first day, the Cong-JD(S) alliance in Karnataka was a target for vested interests, both within & outside, who saw the alliance as a threat & an obstacle in their path to power. Their greed won today. Democracy, honesty & the people of Karnataka lost.”

Mr. Kumaraswamy warned that the political instability, caused by engineered defections, would boomerang on the BJP.

CLP leader Siddaramaiah squarely blamed the BJP for the fall of the government. “The BJP that used money and muscle power has won in the numbers game, but has lost morally,” said Mr. Siddaramaiah.

The 2018 Assembly polls had thrown up a fractured mandate. The numerical strength of parties, in the the House of 225, stood at 105 for BJP, 78 (Plus, one of Speaker) for Congress and 37 for JD(S). The Congress and JD(S) had come together to form a coalition.

The article has been edited to correct a spelling error in the headline.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 7, 2021 9:16:46 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/karnataka-assembly-congress-jds-goverment-loses-trust-vote/article28689149.ece

In This Package
Karnataka Speaker disqualifies 14 more rebel MLAs till end of Assembly term
Deve Gowda says JD(S) will sit in Opposition
Congress, JD(S) slam Governor’s decision
Yediyurappa preaches ‘forgive and forget’ mantra
Speaker’s decision on rebel Congress MLAs hastens BJP move
Timeline: How the Karnataka political crisis unfolded...
Works sanctioned, transfers done in July put on hold in Karnataka
From Yeddyurappa to Yediyurappa: BJP leader reverts to old spelling after 12 years
Yediyurappa takes oath as CM, to face floor test on Monday
Yeddyurppa’s tryst with the trust votes
You are reading
Karnataka Assembly: Congress-JD(S) government loses trust vote
BJP will stake claim, says Muralidhar Rao
Of political immaturity and power politics in the State
The nail-biting final five minutes outside the House
Political instability will haunt you, HDK tells BSY
BSP MLA expelled for abstaining from trust vote
Karnataka political crisis: How it took root and grew
Karnataka trust vote put off again
‘Legislature party leader has the right to issue whip’: Speaker
Endless parleys and behind-the-scenes drama
Independent Karnataka MLAs seek SC deadline for trust vote
Decide on rebel MLAs first, then hold trust vote: Coalition
JD(S), Congress leaders discuss possibility of leadership change to save government
Kumaraswamy appeals to rebel MLAs to return
We rebelled to protect our self-respect, say 12 MLAs
Now, Rahim Khan alleges BJP attempted to ‘buy’ him
‘Vishwanath has betrayed party that gave him political rebirth’
Karnataka political crisis had its genesis in Belagavi
A weekend of impatient waiting for Congress–JD(S) combine, BJP
The curious case of ‘missing’ MLA rocks House
Karnataka CM asked to prove majority by 1.30 p.m. on July 19
Karnataka political crisis: case of missing Congress MLA stalls Assembly
No question of going back on resignations, say rebel MLAs
What about our right to issue whip, ask Congress, JD(S) leaders
Karnataka trust vote: Odds heavily stacked against Kumaraswamy government
Next Story