In a first, Karnataka to have 3 Deputy Chief Ministers

Yediyurappa on Monday allocated portfolios to 17 newly appointed ministers who were inducted into the cabinet nearly a week ago.

August 26, 2019 09:09 pm | Updated August 27, 2019 12:23 am IST - Bengaluru

Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa.

Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa.

A month after B.S. Yediyurappa took over as Chief Minister of Karnataka, portfolios were finally allocated on August 26 to the 17 Ministers sworn in earlier and three Deputy Chief Ministers named to work alongside him.

This comes a week after expansion of the Ministry, inducting 17 Ministers. The Deputy Chief Minister are: five time MLA from Mudhol Govind Karjol (68), two-time MLA from Malleswaram Dr. C.N. Ashwath Narayan (51) and three-time MLA from Athani Lakshman Savadi (59) who lost the election in 2018. They belong to Dalit, Vokkaliga and Lingayat communities, respectively.

While Mr. Karjol is perceived to be close to the Chief Minister, the other two are known to have played a key role in the party’s efforts to topple the Congress-JD(S) coalition government.


While B.S. Yediyurappa is reportedly not happy with the decision to appoint three Deputy Chief Ministers, several senior leaders are said to be upset with the choice of Dr. Ashwath Narayan, seen as a relative junior, and Mr. Savadi, who lost the 2018 elections. However, the party high command has left them with little options but to tow the line, sources said.

The BJP, in its earlier tenure, had appointed R. Ashoka and K.S. Eshwarappa as DCMs under Jagadish Shettar in 2012. All three leaders are now part of the Cabinet. They have been allotted major portfolios of Revenue, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj and Large and Medium scale Industries, respectively.

List of Ministers

B.S. Yediyurappa - Chief Minister

1. Govind Makthappa Karajol - Deputy Chief Minister; Public Works Department, Additional charge Social Welfare Department

2. Dr. Ashwath Narayan C.N. - Deputy Chief Minister; Higher Education, IT and BT, Science and Technology

3. Laxman Sangappa Savadi - Deputy Chief Minister; Transport

4. K.S. Eshwarappa - Rural Development and Panchayat Raj

5. R. Ashoka - Revenue Department excluding Muzrai

6. Jagadish Shettar - Large and Medium Scale Industries excluding Sugar

7. B. Sreeramulu - Health and Family Welfare excluding Medical Education

8. S. Suresh Kumar - Primary and Secondary Education and Sakala

9. V. Sommanna - Housing

10. C.T. Ravi - Tourism, Additional charghe Kannada and Culture

11. Basavaraj Bommai - Home Department excluding Intelligence Wing

12. Kota Shrinivas Poojari - Muzrai from Revenue Department, Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport

13. J.C. Madhu Swamy - Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation, Additional charge Minor Irrigation from Water Resources Department

14. Chandrakantagouda Channappagouda Patil - Minies and Geology from Commerce and Industries Department

15. H. Nagesh - Excise

16. Prabhu Chauhan - Animal Husbandry

17. Smt. Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb - Women and Child Development, Empowerment of differently abled and Senior citizens

Umesh Katti upset

"I think Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa is also not happy with the decision of the party high command," former Minister Umesh Katti said in Belagavi on August 26.

He was reacting on the appointment of three Deputy CMs, including former MLA Lakshman Savadi. Mr. Katti is said to be upset at being left out of the Cabinet. “I believe the CM is unhappy. As for me, I am just a MLA. What can I say about the high command decision? I will wait and watch. I will react tomorrow," he said.

"It is true that I was upset as I was not included in the Cabinet. But my party leaders asked me to wait for a few days. I will wait for the party’s reaction in the second round of Cabinet expansions," he said.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.