Election to Karnataka Speaker’s post will see a contest

May 24, 2018 09:38 pm | Updated May 25, 2018 09:29 am IST - Bengaluru

 Congress’ Speaker nominee K.R. Ramesh Kumar files his papers at the Vidhana Soudha on May 24, 2018.

Congress’ Speaker nominee K.R. Ramesh Kumar files his papers at the Vidhana Soudha on May 24, 2018.

With the election for the Speaker’s post scheduled for Friday afternoon, the Congress–Janata Dal (Secular) nominee K.R. Ramesh Kumar and BJP nominee S. Suresh Kumar filed their nomination papers with the Legislative Assembly Secretariat here on Thursday.

While MLA for Malleswaram C.N. Ashwathnarayan and MLA for Karkala V. Sunil Kumar accompanied Mr. Suresh Kumar for filing of nomination papers, Mr. Ramesh Kumar was accompanied by Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara, former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and other senior Congress leaders. Mr. Suresh Kumar has served as Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister in the BJP government, and Mr. Ramesh Kumar was the Speaker between 1994 and 1999.

While Mr. Suresh Kumar exuded confidence of winning the election, Mr. Siddaramaiah asked when the former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa failed to win the trust vote, how could the BJP nominee win? “We hope he (Mr. Suresh Kumar) withdraws from the race,” he added.

Later, seeking cooperation from the Opposition BJP, Dr. Parameshwara, at a press conference, said Mr. Ramesh Kumar, considering his experience, should be elected unopposed. “Once he sits in the Speaker’s chair, he does not belong to any party,” he added.

The election to the post of the Deputy Speaker is expected to follow the Speaker’s election. Sources in the JD(S) said party MLA Srinivas Gowda was the likely candidate for the post. According to Legislative Assembly Secretary S. Murthy, the election to the post of the Speaker will commence at 12.15 p.m., and that the candidate getting majority votes from among the members present would be declared winner.

Resignation not accepted

Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara was in a spot on Thursday when Legislative Council Chairman D.H. Shankarmurthy refused to accept his resignation as a member of the Council.

Mr. Shankarmurthy refused to accept the resignation stating that Dr. Parameshwara was no longer a member of the Council after he took oath as a member of the Legislative Assembly.

He cited provisions of the Karnataka Legislature (Prohibition of Simultaneous Membership) Act of 1956.

“I told him that his membership ceases to exist after the gazette notification of the members of the Legislative Assembly. Hence, he is not a member of the Council anymore,” Mr. Shankarmurthy told reporters.

Vote of confidence

The vote of confidence motion will be moved by Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy on Friday afternoon after the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker. Mr. Kumaraswamy on Wednesday said he would respond to allegations against the coalition government on the floor of the House when he moves the confidence motion.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.