Defiant MLAs: Congress may move Speaker today

In what is being seen as the first serious action against its defiant legislators, Congress Legislative Party leader Siddaramaiah is expected to seek disqualification of four Congress MLAs, who have so far defied the party whip. Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak), Mahesh Kumathalli (Athani), Umesh Jadhav (Chincholi), and B. Nagendra (Ballari Rural) have been defying the whip issued to them.

On January 18, they first defied the party whip by staying away from the CLP meeting on January 18. Then, subsequently they defied whips to issued to Congress legislators to attend another CLP meeting, and to also attend the budget session.

Sources close to Mr. Siddaramaiah said that the former Chief Minister will meet the Speaker on Monday when the Assembly meets again and hand over letter seeking their disqualification.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 26, 2020 1:32:29 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/defiant-mlas-congress-may-move-speaker-today/article26231777.ece

Next Story