Council polls: JD (S) wins in two teachers’ constituencies

Janata Dal (S) wins both seats in Legislative Council polls, defeating prominent faces from Congress and BJP.

Updated - June 07, 2024 12:06 pm IST

Published - June 06, 2024 10:02 pm IST - Bengaluru

S. L. Bhoje Gowda, JD (S)-BJP combine candidate who won the Legislative Council elections from South West Teachers’ Constituency, celebrating in Mysuru on Thursday.

S. L. Bhoje Gowda, JD (S)-BJP combine candidate who won the Legislative Council elections from South West Teachers’ Constituency, celebrating in Mysuru on Thursday. | Photo Credit: M.A. Sriram

After registering morale-boosting victories in Kolar and Mandya in the Lok Sabha elections, the Janata Dal (S) has won both the seats it contested in the Legislative Council polls.

The party’s candidate K. Vivekananda defeated four-time MLC Marithibbe Gowda, a prominent JD (S) face in the Upper House till recently who had switched over to Congress ahead of polls, in the South Teachers’ constituency by a margin of 1,278 votes. While Mr. Vivekananda polled 3,757 votes, Mr. Gowda could manage 2,479 votes.

Also read: Karnataka Council polls | BJP rebel loses in South West Graduates’ seat 

In the Karnataka South West Teachers’, incumbent MLC S.L. Bhoje Gowda, who secured 9,829 votes, defeated his Congress rival K.K. Manjunath Kumar by a margin of 5,267 votes. Mr. Kumar bagged 4,562 votes.

The rebel BJP candidate in the fray S.R. Harish Acharya, who polled 2,101 votes, was relegated to the third position. The saffron party had let its alliance partner JD (S) contest the seat.

Results awaited

At the time of going to the press, counting in four other constituencies was still in progress. A total of three graduates and three teachers’ constituencies went to the polls as the tenures of the members are coming to an end. The results of the seats where counting is still in progress is expected to come later by Thursday midnight.

According to election officials, the delay is due to the use of ballot paper and also the counting of preferential voting system.

Dhananjaya Sarji, the BJP candidate in South West Graduates’ constituency, was leading by a margin of 3,586 votes against his nearest rival and BJP rebel Raghupati Bhat. While Dr. Sarji had polled 6,714 votes, Mr. Bhat, a former MLA who was expelled by the BJP, polled 3,128 votes. The Congress candidate and senior leader Ayanur Manjunath, who left BJP to join Janata Dal (Secular) and later to Congress, was trailing in the third place polling 2,434 votes.

The incumbent BJP MLC A. Deve Gowda was trailing in Bangalore Graduates’ constituency against his Congress rival Ramoji Gowda by a margin of 579 votes at the end of third round of counting. At the end of round three of counting, another BJP MLC Y.A. Narayanswamy, who polled 1,973 votes, was trailing by a margin of 800 votes behind his Congress rival D.T. Srinivas who had polled 2,773 votes in the South East Teachers’ constituency.

In the North East Graduates’ constituency, the BJP candidate Amarnath Patil had established a slender lead of 306 votes against incumbent Congress MLC Chandrashekar Patil at the end of first round.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.