karnataka elections 2013 Karnataka

Congress second list tomorrow

The Congress second list of candidates for the 47 Assembly constituencies will be released only on Sunday, belying expectations of its release on Friday.

This has disappointed many ticket-seekers who have been camping in Delhi.

Madhusudan Mistry, in-charge of party affairs in Karnataka, who attended the Central Election Committee meeting chaired by Congress president Sonia Gandhi that finalised the single name list for the remaining seats, said a decision was taken against releasing it on Friday.

Apart from KPCC president G. Parameshwara, Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Siddaramaiah and Mr. Mistry, screening committee chairman Luizhano Faleiro and its member and Union Minister Jitendra Singh also participated in the deliberations.

According to sources close to the AICC, the threat of a rebellion by those who would lose out was the reason for postponing the release of list.

Some leaders who expressed anguish over the “inordinate” delay in releasing the names, said party workers were unhappy over some names in the first list, especially those in the city.

Party leaders, the sources said, had opted to announce the names of only 25 names, which were cleared on Friday and the remaining 22 later, but decided to announce all the 47 names only on Sunday to avoid unpleasant scenes outside the KPCC office here and at the district headquarters.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 29, 2020 3:47:23 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/congress-second-list-tomorrow/article4611493.ece

Next Story