Centre nod for Karnataka's proposal on renaming cities

A view of the Vidhana Soudha in Bangalore. File Photo: K. Murali Kumar

A view of the Vidhana Soudha in Bangalore. File Photo: K. Murali Kumar

In a significant move, the Centre has approved Karnataka government’s proposal to rename 12 cities and towns, including Bangalore, stating “it has no objection to the change of names” of those places.

This comes after six years of the State government sending the proposal to the Centre.

This was conveyed by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, to the Principal Secretary, Government of Karnataka, in an official communication here on Friday.

The State Revenue Department had sent the proposal to the Centre seeking its nod for changing the names of 12 cities on October 13, 2008.

According to the proposal, the 12 cities whose names were sought to be changed are Bangalore as Bengaluru; Mangalore as Mangaluru; Bellary as Ballari; Bijapur as Vijayapura or Vijapura; Belgaum as Belagavi; Chikmagalur as Chikkamagaluru; Gulbarga as Kalaburagi; Mysore as Mysuru; Hospet as Hosapete; Shimoga as Shivamogga; Hubli as Hubballi, and Tumkur as Tumakuru.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 25, 2022 1:54:14 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/centre-nod-for-karnatakas-proposal-on-renaming-cities/article6514079.ece