BJP fields 13 disqualified MLAs for Karnataka bypolls

The disqualified MLAs with Karnataka BJP president Nalin Kumar Kateel and Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa in Bengaluru on Thursday.   | Photo Credit: Sreenivasa Murthy

The BJP top leadership has announced nominations for 13 of the 15 Karnataka Assembly seats set to face bypolls on December 5. And they all go to 13 disqualified MLAs who joined the party just hours before the tickets were announced on November 14.

The party is yet to announce tickets for two other poll bound constituencies — Shivajinagar and Ranibennur.

Disqualified MLA from Shivajinagar R. Roshan Baig did not join the BJP. Another disqualified MLA R. Shankar from Ranibennur has also not yet been announced.

Earlier on November 14, 16 of the 17 disqualified MLAs of Karnataka joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa.

Mr. Yediyurappa assured the former disqualified MLAs who joined the party that they “will fulfill all promises made to them”. He even addressed these former MLAs as “future MLAs and future Ministers”, indicating promises the party had made to these rebels when they resigned as MLAs from Congress and JD(S) in July earlier this year.

“You need not be anxious of fighting elections in BJP. The party high command is with you,” he assured the former MLAs.

Mr. Yediyurappa appealed to all BJP workers and leaders to set aside their interests and differences and work towards the victory of these leaders in the upcoming bypolls.

“It is because of the extraordinary sacrifice of these leaders that there is a BJP government and I am the Chief Minister in the State today. We need to remember that and work towards victory of each of these leaders,” he said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 25, 2021 5:42:58 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/bjp-fields-13-disqualified-mlas-for-karnataka-bypolls/article29971879.ece

Next Story