A spectacular recovery for BJP in Karnataka

Updated - November 17, 2021 04:12 am IST

Published - May 17, 2014 04:26 am IST - BANGALORE:

The Bharatiya Janata Party has, by winning 17 of the 28 Lok Sabha seats, registered a spectacular recovery in the State in just about a year after the humiliating defeat in the Legislative Assembly elections.

If the victories in 2008 when it formed the government in the State, followed soon thereafter by a splendid win of 19 seats in the 2009 general elections, were rated high, the BJP has now shown that it is a major force to reckon with in the only southern State where it has continuously improved on its performance since 1991. With many BJP heavyweights making it to the Lok Sabha, the party central leadership will find it tough to choose from among them for a place in the Union Ministry. There are at least four of them — the former Union Minister Ananth Kumar, the former Chief Ministers B.S. Yeddyurappa and D.V. Sadananda Gowda and State BJP president Pralhad Joshi. Interestingly, Mr. Yeddyurappa has won by a huge margin — nearly 3.62 lakh votes — in Shimoga.

New entrant to politics and first-time candidate Pratap Simha won in Mysore, while Janardhana Swamy, who won from Chitradurga in 2009, lost this time and so did G.S. Basavaraju in Tumkur. The former Minister Shobha Karandlaje registered a thumping victory over K. Jayaprakash Hegde of the Congress in Udupi-Chikmagalur. Contrary to expectations that Nandan Nilekani would score a victory in Bangalore South, Mr. Ananth Kumar, five-time MP, cruised to a comfortable win. Among the top Congress leaders, while M. Mallikarjun Kharge won the Gulbarga seat, the former Chief Minister N. Dharam Singh lost to Bhagavant Khuba of the BJP in Bidar. However, K.H. Muniyappa of the Congress scored a seventh straight victory in Kolar.

The former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda (Janata Dal-S) won for the fifth time from Hassan, while his son and former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy lost to Union Minister M. Veerappa Moily in Chickballapur.

The Janata Dal(S) ended up with a victory in Mandya where C.S. Puttaraju wrested the seat from Ramya of the Congress. It should be noted that the Congress won a total of nine seats — three more than it bagged in 2009.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.