64 chosen for Rajyotsava award


The State government has announced the Rajyotsava award for 64 personalities from 29 fields to mark the 64th Kannada Rajyotsava to be celebrated on November 1.

Writers Manjappa Shetty Masagali, B. Rajashekharappa, Chandrakanth Karadalli, Saraswamy Chimmalagi; theatre personalities Huli Shekhar, H.K. Ramanath, Bhargavi Narayan; musicians Chote Rahamath Khan, Nagavalli Nagaraj, Muddu Mohan, Srinivas Udupa; industrialist Vijay Sankeshwar; and former Vice-Chancellor K. Chidananda Gowda are among those chosen for the award to be presented on November 1.

A committee, headed by C.T. Ravi, Minister for Kannada and Culture, selected the awardees. Mr. Ravi released the list at a press conference in Chikkamagaluru on Monday.

The award carries a purse of ₹1 lakh and a 20 gm gold medal with the names of the recipients engraved on it. There were 1,512 applications for the award.

The government had appealed to the public to suggest achievers who had been serving without expecting anything in return. There were 357 suggestions. Apart from this, the guidelines set by a committee headed by Justice Nagamohan Das in the previous government were taken into consideration.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Karnataka
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 20, 2020 5:29:41 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/64-chosen-for-rajyotsava-award/article29816570.ece

Next Story