'Prasad' gets best film award for 2011

Prasad , directed by Manoj Sati, has been adjudged the best film for 2011 followed by Girish Kasaravalli’s Kurmavatara by a committee headed by filmmaker Sunil Kumar Desai that announced Karnataka State Film Awards on Thursday.

The third place went to Allide Nammane Illi Bandhe Summane , directed by Gopi Peenya, who won the Best Dialogue Writer Award.

Director D. Rajendra Babu, music director Hamsalekha and actor Anant Nag have been conferred awards for lifetime achievement.

While the Subbaiah Naidu Best Actor Award went to Arjun Sarja for his performance in Prasad , Bhavana was adjudged the Best Female Actor for her role in Bhagirathi . Bhagirathi also won awards in the best lyricist (Baraguru Ramachandrappa) and the best female playback singer categories (Archana Udupa).

Aditya Rao got the Best Male Playback Singer Award for Ballpen. Kum. Veerabadrappa bagged the Best Story Writer Award and G.S. Bhaskar the Best Photography Award for Kurmavatara .

While Ravindra H.P. Das got the Best Screenplay Award for Matthe Banni Preetsona , Anoop Seelin the Best Music Director Award for Siddlingu, and B.S. Kemparaju bagged the Best Editing Award for Allide Nammane Illi Bandhe Summane .

Sankalpa got the Best Child Actor Award for Prasad and Suhasini the Best Child Actress Award for Bannada Kode .

Eshwari Kumar bagged the Best Art Director Award for Saarathi and Rajan the Special Jury Award for special effects in the same film.

While the First Best Film gets a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh and gold medal, the Second Best Film gets Rs. 75,000 and silver medal. The Third Best Film gets Rs. 50,000 and a silver medal.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 19, 2022 5:18:04 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka//article60027809.ece