J&K to be largest Union Territory, followed by Ladakh

Currently, only two Union Territories – Delhi and Puducherry – have Legislative Assemblies; with the addition of Jammu and Kashmir, the number will go up to three.

Updated - November 28, 2021 10:27 am IST

Published - August 05, 2019 07:19 pm IST - New Delhi:

Jammu and Kashmir will be the largest Union Territory (UT) in the country in terms of area once it is carved out, following the Centre’s move to bifurcate the State. Ladakh will be the second largest UT after it comes to force.

The government on Monday revoked Article 370 which gave special status to Jammu and Kashmir and proposed that the State be bifurcated into two separate Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

This provoked outrage from the National Conference and the PDP and triumph from leaders of India’s ruling BJP.

There has been a long pending demand from a section of people of Ladakh to turn it into a Union Territory.

With the addition of two new UTs, its total number will go up to nine – J&K, Ladakh, Delhi, Puducherry, Diu and Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Currently, only two UTs – Delhi and Puducherry – have Legislative Assemblies. With the addition of Jammu and Kashmir, the number will go up to three. UTs with legislative assemblies have Lt. Governors.

The number of MPs from UTs may vary but all have representation in Parliament. For instance, Delhi sends seven MPs, the largest among union territories.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.