Five Congress MLAs, former BJP MP Chandan Mitra join Trinamool Congress

Mamata vows to stop the BJP win in 2019.

Updated - July 21, 2018 02:54 pm IST

Published - July 21, 2018 01:55 pm IST - Kolkata

Chandan Mitra

Chandan Mitra

West Bengal Congress suffered a major defection on Saturday with five of its MLAs joining Trinamool Congress at the ruling party annual Martrys Day rally in Kolkata.

Former Rajya Sabha member of the BJP, Chandan Mitra also joined Trinamool Congress at the rally in presence of Mamata Banerjee. The Congress MLAs who switched sides are Sabina Yasmin, Apurba Sarkar, Akrurzaman, Samar Mukherjee and Moinul Hasan. They are legislators from Malda and Murshidabad district.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, while addressing the rally said that the party will ensure that the BJP government does not return to party in 2019.

Ms. Banerjee said that a federal front of regional parties will ensure that BJP is defeated. Referring to the 325 votes polled in favour of BJP-led government at the no confidence motion on Friday, she said that the figure will come down to 100 or 150 in the next Lok Sabha polls.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.