As it happened: PM Modi's Union Cabinet expansion

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his council of ministers on Sunday

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his council of ministers on Sunday  


National anthem is being played and that is the end of the swearing-in ceremony.

2.15 p.m.: Vijay Sampla sworn in as Minister of State.

2.13 p.m.: Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti sworn in as Minister of State. First female to take oath in this Cabinet expansion

2.11 p.m. Babul Supriyo sworn in as Minister of State. Second one to take oath in English

2.09 p.m. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore sworn in as Minister of State

2.07 p.m. Jayant Sinha sworn in as Minister of State.

2.05 p.m Y.S. Chowdhary sworn in as Minister of State. First one to take oath in English

2.03 p.m.: Prof. Dr. Ramshankar Katheria sworn in as Minister of State

2.01 p.m.: Hansraj Ahir sworn in as Minister of State

1.59 p.m.: Giriraj Singh sworn in as Minister of State

1.57 p.m.: Mohan Kundariya sworn in as Minister of State

1.55 p.m.: Sanwar Lal Jat sworn in as Minister of State

1.53 p.m.: Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary sworn in as Minister of State

1.51 p.m.: Ram Kripal Yadav sworn in as Minister of State

1.49 p.m. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi sworn in as Minister of State

1.47 p.m: Dr. Mahesh Sharma sworn in as MoS (Independent Charge)

1.45 p.m.: Rajiv Pratap Rudy sworn in as MoS (Independent Charge)

1.43 p.m.: Bandaru Dattatreya sworn in as MoS (Independent charge)

1.41 p.m.: Birender Singh sworn in as Cabinet Minister

1.39 p.m.: Jagat Prakash Nadda sworn in as Cabinet Minister

1.38 p.m.: Sri Suresh Prabhu sworn in as Cabinet Minister

1.37 p.m.: Sri Manohar Parrikar sworn in as Cabinet Minister

1.35 p.m.: President Pranab Mukherjee arrives at the Rashtrapati Bhavan for the swearing-in. National anthem being played at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Vice President of India Hamid Ansari arrives for the swearing in ceremony. Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje, BJP president Amit Shah, L.K. Advani among others present at Rashtrapati Bhawan for the ceremony.

1.30 p.m.: Prime MInister Narendra Modi arrives at Rashtrapati Bhawan for the cabinet expansion

1.30 p.m: Swearing in ceremony of Union Cabinet begins at Rashtrapati Bhawan

1.28 p.m.: Playback singer & Asansol MP Supriyo Babul likely to be the first minister from West Bengal in the NDA government

1.26 p.m.: Shiv Sena MP Anil Desai says waiting for call from Uddhav Thackeray, unsure if taking oath or not. Dignitaries begin gathering at Rashtrapati Bhawan ahead of the Cabinet expansion

1.25 p.m.: The government in Bihar is as good as nothing; will work under leadership of Prime MInister Narendra Modi, says BJP MP Giriraj Singh

1.24 p.m.: Swearing in to take place in Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will expand his council of ministers on Sunday; an exercise that is expected to make the Cabinet more representative socially, streamline work distribution, and balance power equations — both within the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and with allies. Manohar Parrikar, Suresh Prabhu, Virender Singh and JP Nadda are tipped to get Cabinet rank, according to sources.

In the first major expansion of the Cabinet, Mr. Modi will include several new faces and reshuffle a couple of ministers to give wider State-wise representation.

Cabinet rank

Manohar Parrikar (Defence)

He is the first IITian to become the Chief Minister of any Indian state. Mr. Parrikar said that he had decided to accept the offer of Union Cabinet seat as a matter of “national interest” although he also said that he was extremely attached to Goa.

Suresh Prabhu (Railways)

Suresh Prabhu, a former Cabinet minister, is the head of a high-level panel on power revamp — “Advisory Group for Integrated Development of Power, Coal and Renewable Energy”. Mr. Prabhu was the initiator of reforms in the power sector during his tenure as Power Minister in the former NDA government when he had piloted the integrated electricity bill and the law for setting up a regulator.

J.P. Nadda (Health and Family Welfare)

He is a Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh and also the national general secretary of the BJP. He also served as the President of Olympic Association, Himachal Pradesh from 2008 to 2012.

Birender Singh (Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation)

He is a Jat leader from Haryana. In August, Birendra Singh ended his four-decade-long association with the Congress and joined the BJP. Mr. Singh is one of the many Congress leaders to have shifted their loyalties to the BJP in the recent months.

MoS (Independent Charge) rank

Bandaru Dattatreya (Labour and Employment)

He is a former Union Minister for Railways and was appointed as chairman of parliamentary committee on OBC welfare. He was re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha from Secunderabad Constituency.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy (Skill Development & Entrepreneurship)

He is the BJP MP from Saran constituency in Bihar. He was the civil aviation minister in the previous NDA government. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections Mr. Rudy defeated former Bihar CM Rabri Devi.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi (Minority Affairs)

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is BJP’s prominent Muslim face and is a vice-president of the party. He is also the party’s youth wing president. In 1998 he was appointed Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and was also given responsibility over the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

MoS rank

Ram Kripal Yadav (Drinking Water & Sanitation)

The BJP Patliputra MP will be the party’s “Yadav” face in next year’s Assembly elections, challenging his erstwhile leader and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad.

Giriraj Singh (Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises)

A senior party leader who recently stoked controversy with his speeches during the election campaign wherein he said that those who opposed Modi belong in Pakistan. The statement drew flak from the Opposition parties and Election Commission. The BJP distanced itself from Mr Singh’s remarks.

Hansraj Gangaram Ahir (Chemicals & Fertilizers)

He is an MP from Maharashtra who is credited with uncovering the coal block scam.

Y.S. Chowdary (Science and Technology and Earth Science)

A first-time Rajya Sabha member, Mr. Chowdary is the second MP from the Telugu Desam Party, to be inducted into the Cabinet, the first being Union Civil Aviation Minister P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, who represents the Vizianagaram constituency. He is popularly known as ‘Sujana’ Chowdary for founding the Sujana group of industries which manufactures home appliances.

Jayant Sinha (Finance)

He is the Lok Sabha MP from Hazaribagh constituency, Jharkhand. Mr Sinha, son of Yashwant Sinha was an investment professional and an alumunus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, and Harvard Business School. At McKinsey, Mr. Sinha co-led the global Software and IT Services practice.

Babul Supriyo (Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation)

He is a popular singer and BJP MP from West Bengal’s Asansol seat. He will be the first Minster from West Bengal in the National Democratic Alliance government.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (Information & Broadcasting)

He is a first time MP from Jaipur Rural and also an Olympian shooter. He is a recipient of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards.

Vijay Sampla (Social Justice & Empowerment)

He is a BJP MP from Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency.


MoS (Independent Charge) - Dr. Mahesh Sharma (Tourism); MoS - H.P. Chowdhary (Home Affairs), Mohan Kundariya (Agriculture), Ram Shankar Katheria (Human Resource Development), Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (Food Processing Industries), Sanwar Lal Jat (Water Resources).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 18, 2020 9:02:21 AM |

Next Story