Droupadi Murmu to take oath as President followed by 21-gun salute

Ms. Murmu scripted history on Thursday after defeating Opposition Presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha as she will become India’s first tribal President

July 25, 2022 12:53 am | Updated 08:36 am IST - New Delhi

PM Narendra Modi with President-elect Droupadi Murmu in New Delhi on Thursday.

PM Narendra Modi with President-elect Droupadi Murmu in New Delhi on Thursday. | Photo Credit: PTI

President-elect Droupadi Murmu will take oath of office of the highest constitutional post of the country on Monday followed by a 21-gun salute.

The Union Home Ministry said the ceremony will be held at the central hall of Parliament at 10:15 a.m. on Monday where Chief Justice of India N.V. Ramana will administer the oath of office to her. The President will then deliver an address.

Before the ceremony, the outgoing President and the President-elect will arrive in Parliament in a ceremonial procession.

Vice-President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha M. Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, heads of diplomatic missions, Members of Parliament and principal civil and military officers of the government will attend the ceremony.

On the conclusion of the ceremony in the central hall of the Parliament, the President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan where an inter-services guard of honour will be given to her on the forecourt and courtesies will be extended to the outgoing President.

Ms. Murmu, 64, scripted history on Thursday after defeating Opposition Presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha in a one-sided contest. She will become India's first tribal President.

Ms. Murmu won the election by an overwhelming margin against Mr. Sinha after receiving over 64% valid votes of MPs and MLAs, comprising the Electoral College, to succeed Ram Nath Kovind to become the country's 15th President.

Ms. Murmu got 6,76,803 votes against Mr. Sinha's 3,80,177 votes.

She will be the first President to be born after independence and is the youngest to occupy the top post. She is also the second woman to become the President.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.