Delegations from China, Pakistan attending Shanghai Cooperation Organisation meet in Delhi

The three-day meeting in New Delhi began on Wednesday

June 16, 2022 05:30 am | Updated 09:24 am IST - New Delhi

FILE: The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Foreign Minister Contact Group meeting in Dushanbe in 2021.

FILE: The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Foreign Minister Contact Group meeting in Dushanbe in 2021. | Photo Credit: PTI

Delegations from China, Pakistan and other member nations of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) are attending a meeting of the grouping being hosted by India that is expected to deliberate on pressing security challenges, including threats of terrorism.

The three-day meeting in New Delhi that began on Wednesday is expected to witness extensive deliberations on regional security scenarios, including the situation in Afghanistan, people familiar with the development said.

Senior officials of the border management forces of the SCO member countries, including those from China and Pakistan, are attending the meeting, they said.

The participation of the Chinese delegation came in the backdrop of a military standoff between Indian and Chinese troops in eastern Ladakh for over two years.

The meeting is deliberating on a variety of security challenges, including combating terrorism, the people cited above said.

India is hosting the meeting in its capacity as chair of the SCO's Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (SCO-RATS).

India assumed the chair of SCO-RATS on October 28 last year for a period of one year.

India has shown keen interest in deepening its security-related cooperation with the SCO-RATS, which specifically deals with issues relating to security and defence.

Last month, India hosted a meeting of counter-terror experts from the SCO countries.

A similar conference was organised by India in December last year, in which all the SCO member states participated.

The SCO is an influential economic and security bloc and has emerged as one of the largest transregional international organisations.

The member states of the SCO are Russia, China, India, Pakistan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan is among the observer states of the SCO.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.