CRPF bags 75 gallantry medals

Photo courtesy: Twitter/@crpfindia

Photo courtesy: Twitter/@crpfindia  

The CRPF has bagged the maximum of 75 gallantry medals, including a Kirti Chakra and two Shaurya Chakras this Independence Day.

Harshpal Singh, now promoted in the second-in-command rank from Deputy Commandant and constable Zaker Hussain had been decorated with the Kirti Chakra.

Constable Sable Dyaneshwar Shriram was awarded the Shaurya Chakra for killing two armed JeM terrorists after taking them on in the Baramulla district of Kashmir valley while he was on ‘naka’ (checkpost) duty on October 19 last year.

The force also bagged two President’s Police Medal for Gallantry for Assistant Commandant L Ibomcha Singh and constable Mohd Majahid Khan (posthumous).

This is followed by 61 gallantry medals bagged by the J&K police, 23 by the Odisha police, nine by the police personnel from Chhattisgarh and five each by the BSF and the Indo-Tibetan Border Police force. Deputy Commandant Sudhir Kumar Mishra of the BSF was awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service. Six personnel of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) were awarded the Police Medals. DIG Randeep Kumar Rana had been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 17, 2020 1:08:06 AM |

Next Story