Coronavirus: Indian Embassy sets up helpline to address queries on travel restrictions

The two helpline numbers are 202-213-1364 and 202-262-0375. People can also reach out to the embassy at

March 13, 2020 04:23 am | Updated 04:30 am IST - Washington

The Indian Embassy in the U.S. has set up a 24-hour helpline to address questions on the recent travel restrictions implemented by New Delhi in a bid to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus .

India reported its first death due to coronavirus on Thursday as the number of positive cases soared to 74. The deadly virus that originated in the Chinese city of Wuhan in December last year has claimed over 4,600 lives and infected more than 124,330 people worldwide.

Also read | Coronavirus live updates | India’s first COVID-19 death confirmed in Karnataka

“To respond to queries and provide clarifications with regard to the travel advisory on travel to India issued by the government of India, a 24x7 helpline has been set up by the Indian Embassy in Washington DC,” the embassy said in a statement.

The two helpline numbers are 202-213-1364 and 202-262-0375. People can also reach out to the embassy at

India on Wednesday suspended all visas , except a few categories such as diplomatic and employment, till April 15 in view of the coronavirus outbreak, which has been declared a pandemic by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

The government has also “strongly advised” Indians to avoid all non-essential travel abroad.

The suspension came into effect from 1200 GMT on March 13 at the port of departure.

“All existing visas, except diplomatic, official, UN/International organisations, employment and project visas, stand suspended till 15th April 2020. This will come into effect from 1200GMT on 13th March 2020 at the port of departure,” an official statement said.

Visa-free travel facility granted to Overseas Citizenship of India (OCI) card holders is also kept in abeyance till April 15, it said.

All incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, arriving from or having visited China, Italy, Iran, Republic of Korea, France, Spain and Germany after February 15 will be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days, the statement said.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.