Congress constitutes U.P. poll panel; includes Lallu, Khurshid, Shukla

August 11, 2021 05:26 pm | Updated 10:38 pm IST - New Delhi:

Photo: Facebook/@INCUttarPradesh

Photo: Facebook/@INCUttarPradesh

Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Wednesday announced an election committee for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly election next year.

The 38-member panel includes U.P. unit chief Ajay Kumar Lallu; former Union Ministers Salman Khurshid, Rajeev Shukla and R.P.N. Singh; Congress Legislature Party leader Aradhana Mona Misra; and senior party leaders Mohsina Kidwai, Nirmal Khatri, Pramod Tiwari, P.L. Punia and Vivek Bansal.

The national presidents or chairpersons of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) organisations or departments from Uttar Pradesh; the State heads of the party’s frontal organisations; and the vice-presidents and general secretaries of the Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee (UPCC) will be its ex-officio members.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.