Congress announces nationwide protests against Modi government’s policies

The protests, to be held between November 5 and 15, will focus on the economic crisis, unemployment, farm distress and the “adverse” impact of the proposed RCEP agreement.

October 30, 2019 05:01 pm | Updated December 03, 2021 06:59 am IST - New Delhi

Senior Congress leaders Randeep S. Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh, A.K. Anthony and K.C. Venugopal. File photo.

Senior Congress leaders Randeep S. Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh, A.K. Anthony and K.C. Venugopal. File photo.

The Congress has decided to hold nationwide protests from November 5 to 15 against the Narendra Modi government’s policies with special focus on economic crisis, unemployment, farm distress and the “adverse” impact of the proposed RCEP agreement.

Congress general secretary organisation K.C. Venugopal said in a statement that the protests against the BJP Government’s “misrule” would be carried out at all State capitals and district headquarters.

The protests will culminate in a “massive programme” in the national capital in the last week of November, he said, adding that at the state level, the PCC presidents, CLP leaders and senior AICC functionaries will provide the leadership, while central leaders will participate in the protest in Delhi.

He said the Congress will highlight the issues of the “adverse impact of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), current economic crisis, mounting unemployment, spiralling price rise, collapse of banking system, heavy loss of jobs in public and private sectors and the omnipresent farm distress“.

Also read: Congress plans offensive on economic slowdown

“The Congress party workers and its volunteers will raise the voice of the people and try to make this insensitive central government accountable for the countless miseries and sufferings that it is causing,” Mr. Venugopal said.

Meeting on November 2

Congress President Sonia Gandhi has also convened a meeting of AICC general secretaries, state in-charges, heads of frontal organisations and departments on Saturday, November 2, 2019, for reviewing the preparations for this agitation.

The Congress has already decided to depute 31 senior party leaders as observers to various states/UTs to monitor this country-wide agitation programme.

Senior Congress leaders will also hold press conferences in major towns and cities highlighting these issues including the “collapse of banking system”.

“The party sincerely appeals to all citizens across the country to come forward and make this arrogant Government listen to their voices,” he said.

The pressers across the country have been lined up from November 1 to 8 to highlight the shortcomings of the government in handling the economy and other issues.

Senior Congress leaders will address press conferences in nearly 35 cities.

Mallikarjun Kharge will hold a presser in Jaipur, Jairam Ramesh in Delhi, A.K. Antony in Thiruvanathapuram, Ghulam Nabi Azad in Hyderabad, Ambika Soni in Jammu, Ajay Maken in Lucknow, and Abhishek Singhvi in Raipur.

Rajasthan Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot will address the media in Bangaluru, Manish Tewari in Chandigarh, Mukul Wasnik in Bhopal, Rajiv Shukla in Ranchi and Pawan Khera in Nagpur.

The Congress is seeking to drive home the point that under the BJP, unemployment has touched a 45-year high, the economy is on a downturn, the trouble faced by farmers, and against the proposed Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, party leaders said.

The Congress says the 16-country trade pact is not good for India and that it is not the right time to sign such an agreement that will allow easy Chinese imports, as India’s economy is already in a bad shape.

The RCEP bloc comprises 10 ASEAN members (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, Laos and Vietnam) and their six FTA partners - India, China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.