Cabinet expansion at 6 pm on July 7

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the new inclusions to council of ministers.   | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

The long anticipated expansion of the Union Cabinet is set to happen at 6 pm on Wednesday, according to the Prime Minister's Office. No 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, the official residence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi is abuzz with activity with a number of BJP leaders getting calls confirming their Cabinet berth.

Former Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia whose switch to BJP led to the fall of Kamal Nath government in Madhya Pradesh is likely to be made as a Cabinet Minister. Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, former Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, BJP general secretary and Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav, and Uttar Pradesh BJP Vice President B L Verma are among those who received a call.

Women ministers

A number of women members will also be inducted to the Cabinet. This includes Karnataka MP Shobha Karandalaje, Sirsa MP Sunita Duggar, Delhi MP Meenakshi Lekhi, and Maharashtra MP Hina Gavit.

There were speculations that Pritam Munde could be given a Cabinet berth but her sister and BJP leader Pankaja tweeted both of them are in Mumbai. 

The expanded Cabinet will also include BJP allies namely Janata Dal (U) national president and Rajya Sabha MP R C P Singh and Apna Dal leader Anupriya Patel.

Lok Sabha Members Kapil Patil (Maharashtra), Ajay Bhatt (Uttarakhand) and Shantanu Thakur (West Bengal) will also be included in the Council of Ministers.

Rajya Sabha MP from Odisha and former bureaucrat Ashwini Vaishnaw will also be made a minister.

Promotions and resignations

Junior minister Anurag Thakur, Kishen Reddy and Parshottam Rupala are expected to be promoted as Cabinet Ministers.

A number of existing ministers have also tendered their resignations to make way for new faces. Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawarchand Gehlot, who has been appointed as Governor of Karnataka, will no longer be part of the Cabinet.

Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank' has quit citing health reasons. Health Minister Harsh Vardhan has also quit.

Minister for chemicals and fertilisers Sadananda Gowda, Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar and Minister of State for Woman and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri have also resigned.

Junior ministers Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre, Pratap Chandra Sarangi and Raosaheb Danve has also resigned from the Cabinet.

This will be the first reshuffle in his Council of Ministers by Mr. Modi since he assumed charge for a second term in May 2019.

According to the Constitution, the number of ministers in the Union council of ministers cannot exceed more than 15% of total Lok Sabha MPs. This puts the number of ministerial slots empty as of now at 29.

The Modi government has created a new Ministry of Cooperation with an aim to strengthen the cooperative movement in the country.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2021 5:48:05 PM |

Next Story