Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi added to Jammu and Kashmir official languages list

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar addressing a news conference at the National Media Center in New Delhi on Wednesday.   | Photo Credit: Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

The Union Cabinet on Wednesday approved a Bill to include Kashmiri, Dogri and Hindi as official languages in the newly-created Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Only English and Urdu were official languages in the former State.

Also read: Union Cabinet approves Mission Karmayogi for bringing post-recruitment reforms

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar said that the Cabinet had approved the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill to be introduced in Parliament to make Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi and English official languages for the Union Territory. “This has been done on the demand of the people,” Mr. Javadekar said.

Minister of Personnel Jitendra Singh tweeted, “#Dogri,#Hindi & #Kashmiri can also be used now as medium of language in official documents in #JammuAndKashmir. Earlier it was only English & Urdu. Thanks PM Sh @narendramodi for giving consent at #Cabinet meeting chaired by you. Thanks HM Sh @AmitShah for moving the cabinet note.”

Parliament is scheduled to meet from September 14 to October 1.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 25, 2021 4:00:37 AM |

Next Story