Election Commission announces bypolls to three Lok Sabha, 30 Assembly seats

A logo of the Election Commission of India. File   | Photo Credit: Sushil Kumar Verma

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced by-elections to Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Khandwa and Mandi parliamentary constituencies and 30 Assembly seats across the country to be held on October 30 and counting on November 2.

“The Commission has reviewed the situations related to pandemic, flood, festivals, cold conditions in certain regions, feedback from concerned States/UT and taken into consideration all facts and circumstances and it has decided to hold bye-elections to fill vacancies in three Parliamentary Constituencies of UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Madhya Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh and 30 vacancies in Assembly Constituencies of various States,” the EC said.

The Assembly seats going to bypolls were one each from Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Nagaland and Telangana; two seats each in Bihar, Karnataka and Rajasthan; three seats each in Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Meghalaya; four seats in West Bengal; and five in Assam.

The EC reiterated its orders regarding COVID-19 safety norms, including restricting election meetings to 30% of the allowed capacity of an indoor venue or 200 people and a complete ban on roadshows and bike rallies.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 7, 2021 3:24:41 AM |

Next Story