Andhra Pradesh

When police wielded cricket bats like lathis

DG XI skipper Kanthi Rana receiving the trophy from DGP Malakondaiah in the Festive Cricket Tournament held at Mulapadu on Saturday.

DG XI skipper Kanthi Rana receiving the trophy from DGP Malakondaiah in the Festive Cricket Tournament held at Mulapadu on Saturday.   | Photo Credit: ARRANGED


DGP XI defeats Chief Secretary’s XI in second edition of Festive Trophy

Mulapadu cricket playfield on Saturday was full of action of a different kind as bureaucrats and police officers of the new State of Andhra Pradesh, played a friendly cricket match amidst camaraderie and competitive spirit.

The second edition of Festive Cricket Trophy saw the Director General of Police XI scoring a convincing eight-wicket victory over Chief Secretary’s XI, who won the first edition in 2017.

The policemen, wielded their bats like lathis against the CS XI bowling, and lifted the trophy. They ran amok overhauling the paltry target in less than 12 overs.

Annual affair

While giving away the trophies and prizes, DGP M. Malakondaiah said friendly matches helped officials to relax and get back to their work with new vigour. “These officials have travelled from different districts for his match and they also prepared hard for the contest . This will be an annual affair,” he added.

Chasing a moderate total of 88 for four in the allotted 16 overs, Joint Commissioner of Police Kanthi Rana Tata laid the foundation for the triumph by notching up 20 runs in the first over by walloping P. S. Pradyumna (District Collector, Chittoor District). He scored four boundaries in a row.

Guntur Urban Superintendent of Police Ch. Vijay Rao played a sheet-anchor innings by accumulating 25 runs. East Godavari SP Vishal Gunni (23) gave Vijay the much-needed support to guide their team to emerge victorious.

Earlier, Pradyumna (37 in 43 balls) played a captain’s innings and paved way for his team scoring 88 for four in 16 overs. He was given away the best batsman award while K.K.N. Anbu Rajan ( Additional SP, Kadapa) was adjudged the best bowler for his two-wicket effort.

Andhra Cricket Association secretary Ch. Arun Kumar, Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh Managing Director N. Bangara Raju and Officer-Special-Duty P. Ramakrishna and others were present in the prize distribution function.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | Jan 29, 2020 10:53:57 AM |

Next Story