Andhra Pradesh

TRS gets massive win in Karimnagar

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi had swept the general elections in its stronghold of Karimnagar district by winning 12 Assembly seats out a total of 13 Assembly segments and the Karimnagar and Parliament Lok Sabha constituencies with a record majority.

Only saving grace for the Congress was with the victory of former Minister T. Jeevan Reddy from Jagtial Assembly segment. The Congress had completely washed away in the district. Stalwart politician and former Minister D. Sridhar Babu, who had performed hat-trick from Manthani Assembly segment, lost in the hands of his arch rival and TRS candidate Putta Madhu.

Sitting Manakondur legislator and Government Whip Arepalli Mohan lost in the hands of balladeer Rasamayi Balakishan and Husnabad legislator A. Praveen Reddy lost to TRS candidate C. Satish Kumar. Congress nominee from Karimnagar parliament constituency Ponnam Prabhakar lost in the hands of TRS candidate B. Vinod Kumar. In an unusual manner, Peddapalli Congress nominee and industrialist G. Vivekanand also lost in the hands of Student JAC leader Balki Suman.

TRS president K. Chandrashkehar Rao’s son K. Taraka Rama Rao had performed hat-trick from the Sircilla Assembly segment by defeating Congress nominee and DCCB chairman K. Ravinder Rao. TRS floor leader in the Assembly Etala Rajender, Dharmapuri legislator Koppula Eshwar and Korutla legislator K Vidyasagar Rao had continued their winning streak from Huzurabad, Dharmapuri and Korutla segments respectively. Karimnagar TRS nominee Gangula Kamalakar had defeated Congress nominee Ch. Laxminarasimha Rao.

Former naxalite-turned-politician Bodige Shoba had set a milestone by winning from the Choppadandi reserved constituency defeating senior legislator Suddala Devaiah. TRS legislator Somarapu Satyanarayana had continued his winning spree in Ramagundam and educationist-turned-politician D. Manohar Reddy had won from Peddapalli Assembly segment.

Though, BJP nominee Adi Srinivas gave tough fight to TRS nominee C. Ramesh Babu from Vemulawada Assembly segment at the end TRS had won the segment. On the other hand, TRS candidates had continued their leads during the counting of votes in all the rounds.

TRS nominees were so confident that they came to the counting centres only after the completion of major part counting of votes to celebrate their victory along with their supporters. In spite of police restrictions, the TRS supporters celebrated the victory by bursting crackers and taking out processions in the town.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 9, 2021 6:02:15 PM |

Next Story