Andhra Pradesh

Saroja Devi, Sarada bag NTR award

Legends B. Saroja Devi and Sarada received the NTR National Film Award for the year 2009 and 2010 respectively at the Nandi Awards function here on Friday evening, from Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Other prominent awardees include director K. Raghavendra Rao who got the B.N. Reddy National Film Award 2009 and filmmaker B. Narsing Rao for 2010. Media baron Ch. Ramoji Rao was named for the Nagi Reddy and Chakrapani National film Award (2009), while M. Saravanan and M. Balasubranian of AVM got it for 2010. The Raghupathi Venkayya Film Award for 2009 was received by K. Raghava and M. Balaiah for 2010. ‘Sontha Ooru' produced and directed by P. Sunil Kumar Reddy got the Golden Nandi for Best Film in 2009 and ‘Vedam' directed by Jagarlamudu Radhakrishna bagged the same for 2010. Allu Arvind's ‘Magadheera' was named the Most Popular Film of 2009 and ‘Maryada Ramanna', produced by Y.N. Sobhanadri and D.N.S. Prasad got it for 2010.

The awards were given away at a function at the Lalitha Kala Thoranam in Public Gardens attended by the who's who of the film industry. Awardees included Nandamuri Balakrishna, Nithya Menon, Sai Kumar, Jhansi for 2010 and Dasari Narayana Rao, Ramya Krishna, M.M. Keeravani, L.B. Sriram, Nandamuri Tarakaratna and others for 2009. The glamour was provided by Genelia who won a special jury award for ‘Katha' and Srikanth for ‘Mahatma' – both for 2009 and Manchu Manoj for ‘Bindaaz' in 2010. Two journalists also got awards. Pulagam Chinnarayana who bagged the Best Book on Cinema Award (2009) for his ‘Aanati Aanavallu' in Telugu and Chakravarthi for Best Critic on Telugu Cinema (2010).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 3, 2021 2:12:57 PM |

Next Story