Andhra Pradesh

Repoll in five stationsin Chandragiri on May 19

EC’s decision against democratic spirit: TDP

The Election Commission has decided to conduct re-polling on May 19 (Sunday) in five polling stations coming under 166 Chandragiri constituency and 25 Chittoor (SC) parliamentary constituency.

This constituency witnessed the highest number of accusations on removal of votes and witnessed a close contest between the TDP and the YSRCP.

Polling will be conducted at 321 N.R. Kammapalli, 104 Pulivarthipalli, 316 Kothakandriga, 318 Kammapalli and 313 Venkatramapuram from 7 am to 6 pm. The district administration has been instructed to inform the political parties and all the contesting candidates, apart from tom-tomming the same in the respective villages.

Reacting bitterly to the EC’s decision, the TDP alleged it was against the democratic spirit.

Agriculture Minister and TDP Polit Bureau member Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy said, “It is unfortunate that the ECI has responded positively to the allegations of a political party. The onus lies on the Commission to explain why it took so much time to announce repoll.”

The EC conducted repoll in a few polling stations in Guntur, Nellore and Prakasam districts recently. “Why these polling stations were not included in that phase?” he asked.

Also, the elections were held more than a month ago, Mr. Reddy pointed out.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | Feb 22, 2020 8:40:22 AM |

Next Story